Tanzania


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
January 24th 2015
Published: January 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

As most of you know, last week I went to Tanzania to climb the mount Kilimanjaro.

I went up through the Machama route, it is a 6 day trek, one of the most beautiful and also a great one to get used to the altitude.

I was very lucky to not suffer of mountain sickness and so enjoyed very much the 5 first days of walk going through beautiful sceneries, and as I was on my own with the guide, we had a good pace and most of the time were by ourselves enjoying the quietness of this magical mountain.

My guide Speight or Matata (his surname) was amazing, he had very good knowledge of the mountain, the birds and the plants. He was great company and so I highly recommend the company for who he works, Focus in Africa. For the climb I also had a private cook and 4 porters, couldn't have asked for better. They were all wonderful.

The last 7 hours of walk in the dark weren't as enjoyable, it was physically and mentally very hard. At that point I was feeling sick and dizzy and didn't believe my guide anymore after he kept saying we were nearly there.

However I achieved the summit at 6am just in time to admire the sunrise. Can't explain what you feel, it is so incredible and magical !!! Just an amazing experience.

I will let you enjoy the pictures. Sorry that the one with my guide is fuzzy but it seems that the person taking the picture didn't know what he was doing.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb