The Surreal Case of High Altitude, 630pm Bedtime, and Fresh Grated Cheese.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
September 6th 2014
Published: January 9th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Base Camp--the destination for the day.

We would reach an altitude a little over 15,000 and would attempt to "sleep" around 6/7pm and wake up at 1130pm to start the trek to the summit around midnight. This trek isn't so bad, but it's the sleeping that's going to really do me in. This trek to Barafu Camp, our base camp, wasn't particularly difficult, memorable, or even that beautiful. But it did leave a feeling of anxiousness amongst many of us on the team. This was it. At this next camp, I'm going to attempt to achieve something I spent months training for. I am going to try and reach an altitude higher than my brother has reached (ha!!). I am hoping to report back to so many friends and family who have followed our team on the RMI blog that Dad and I made it. I think this day had me thinking a lot, and then not thinking at all. I know, what does that even mean, right?

Thinking a lot about life. So cliché, but true. Here I am achieving something I will remember for the rest of my life with my father. Hell, even if I don't make it to the top, the people from Tanzania, the guides, the people on my team, the quality time with my father--literally being on an expedition--I've already made it.

Now the "not thinking"--Let me explain--I have a goal. To reach the top. I can't let any distractions get in my way. I will power through those voices that tell me "I'm so tired" or "It's cold." It doesn't matter. I will let nothing prevent me from reaching this goal. I will let no external or internal noise block my mind set of success. I'm on a mission folks. This is what I was telling myself today. Nothing gets in the way.

Anyway, back to the day. After the hike up to Barafu, you could definitely feel the altitude. Thank goodness for medicine, my body has been handling the altitude better than imagined. You just never know how the human body will react, but feeling my body adapt to altitude has actually been kind of a fun experience. The rapid heart beat, feeling out of breath just walking a few feet, weird dreams--hey, that's pretty cool! My body has been doing what it's supposed to do!

We set up camp, and the emotions felt different. The first few days of the trip, its been fun, excitement, and getting to know one another. Tonight it's felt more
"let's get down to business." RMI and the porters continue to amaze me as well. Here we all are, nerves high about our early wake up call, with a 14 hour day ahead, and Joseph, our head cook serves us spaghetti with FRESH GRATED CHEESE!!!! These guys brought a cheese grater all the way up Kili-unbelievable!! Carb overload began, and Seth laid out our plan for the day to come. It would be tough. It would be cold. And we could do it.

After a full belly, we've been sent to sleep at 630ish. The porters would wake us around 1130 with hot coffee, cookies/toasts, and the 14 day would begin.

Kili, I'm ready for you.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 59; dbt: 0.083s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb