Day 2 Mti Mkubwa camp to Shira 1 camp


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Mount Kilimanjaro
September 16th 2021
Published: September 16th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Day 2 started with a 6am wake up call, 6:30am breakfast, and started hiking at 7am. This day was the first climate zone change from rainforest to mooreland (I initially thought it was alpine desert, but I I think I was kind of wrong). this day had all kinds of cool looking flowers as we transitioned out of the rainforest, past tree line, and started walking east towards the mountain. The climb was steep out of the rainforest, but then evened out as we approached Shira 1 camp. The weather was still pretty warm and I could wear shorts during the day for most of the hike, but did need to start applying sunscreen almost immediately leaving the rainforest. The sun was direct, and in charge. My body felt good and wasn't really feeling the elevation yet. After reaching camp I just straight relaxed, climatized, and waited for the clouds to stop obstructing my view of the mountain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 82, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb