De do do Dar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
September 1st 2006
Published: September 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, I've booked my climb of Kili - heading off on 12 September, and am now wondering about the sense of taking on the biggest physical challenge of my life… Am thinking it would have been far more sensible to treat myself to a luxury safari for my 34th b-day rather than face the -37 degree summit.

The Guardian here (that's the Tanzanian version and nothing like our very own Grauniad) reported the other day that 2 men lost their lives for a $3 duck. They tried to steal it and an ‘’ enraged mob ‘ took them down and beat them to pulp. They also cut off a third miscreants toe. I can only imagine this is to force him to waddle for the rest of his life. I guess he’’ll have to visit a quack to see what medicine he can get…

I've read time and time again that thieves here are often treated to this kind of retaliation. I only wish more people came to my aid when I did my own battle with the scoundrel who tried to steal my phone on a Dar daladala the other week. The little (ok not so little) sod bumped me and before I knew it was clutching was my phone. Before he knew it I was tussling with him. I got it back though...



Advertisement



3rd September 2006

Forgot to ask...what are the toilets like there? do you have to pee in a hole? xxxx
4th September 2006

peeing in a hole
That's if I'm lucky ;o) x

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0722s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb