Countdown to my CCS call to duty


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
March 9th 2009
Published: March 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hujambo! I have signed on with Cross Cultural Solutions to volunteer in Moshi, Tanzania. I leave July 24, 2009 anticipating 26 hours of travel to my destination. The 150 or so days until I depart (ok, exactly 137 days) will be spent getting all the recommended vaccinations, visas, clothing, medications, etc. I hope to make a difference in that small less fortunate part of the world. But probably, that small less fortunate part of the world will make a huge difference in me. I will be there for 3 months teaching children, helping to empower women, caring for the sick and elderly and working in the orphanages. How could something so meaningful not make me a wiser, more open minded and more compassionate human being. I feel truly fortunate for this experience. Until I leave, I will post occasional blogs entailing the preparations. Tomorrow, I formally start learning Swahili! Yeah!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb