Weekendi (weekend) and begining of 5th week.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
November 18th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was kind of sad, I had to say bye to all of the people that I started with here, they all signed up for shorter stays. PLus about 6 other left, so the house is very empty and quiet now. It is peaceful, but boring.
On friday we went back to Glacier, and had a few drinks, and got to meet a bunch of the volunteers that live in another CCS house right down the street from us. It was really cool to hear about some of thier expereinces, and also cool to find out that there is another guy that is in the same boat as me, (I am currently the only guy at my house...can't complain though ; )....) Thr rest of the weekend was spent preparing for school this week. We made that goop stuff out of corn starch and water for the kids to play with...they loved it and were absolutely blown away by its properties. If you havent played with it, you have to try, so much fun. Also made a couple posters to hang in the class rooms; make it a bit more school like. Yesterday was a great day at school, we played all day, and I taught some of the kids how to play guitar (kinf of), but we also had to say bye to the other volunteer at my placement, Laura (kids call her Lola). Just like everything else with these teachers and children, a goodbye is very heart-felt and full of love. They sang her a beautiful song "Goodbyeee Teachahhh, thank you so Muchy for comming", it was a tear jerker. Then they said numerous prayers for her and her travels. They insist on her just going home, saying hello to her parents, then coming right back. Also there was a very formal gift giving ceremony that happens when a volunteer leaves my school. Lola got sat down in the middle of class, and the eldest student retrieves the gift from the teachers room. Then she carries the gift out and very formally presents it to the class. After, she hands the gift to Lola and everyone claps and cheers, it was really interesting and beautiful (the gift was a little bead necklace, and the student actually put it on Lola, so cute).

Today was my first day teaching alone at my school, and I found to be very liberating. Not having to check with the other person, and being able to have complete control of the class instead of sharing, which causes confusion for these kids. They responded very well to just me, and I wonder if is becasue I am a male. Males, as messed up as it is, are much more respected in this country. I dont believe that it is right, but I didnt mind the order in the classroom that resulted.
With the older kids I played subtraction BINGO, and the Kids loved. I can still hear them yelling "BEEENGO!!! Mwalimu (teacher) BEEENGO".
Later in the day it was time for Music lesson, and the teacher expected me to form a lesson plan on the spot. So thankfully there is a cassette player at the school, that works!!!, so I threw some swahili church tape in, and had the kids sing and dance. They loved it, and so did I. They taught me some dance moves, and I made an ass of my self and taught them some too. They get so enthusiastic about singing, and religion, so when the two come together it is Awesome!!


I had another session at the Moshi School of Music. It was particularly fun this time because not only did I teach them, but they taught me too. While I was teaching them "no woman no cry" on guitar the piano teacher over heard and started playing on the keyboard. She is very good, and insisted on me learing how to play it on the keyboard. They are very patient, and are genuinely concerned with whether or not you learned something from them, also very encouraging. We had disscussion of putting on a performance for all of the volunteers in couple weeks, whether or not we folow through is unknown, but I think it would a lot of fun.

Chakula cha njoni (their long word for dinner) time.



-Baadye (later),
Niko

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb