Third Week.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

My third week went pretty well. I really feel like I am starting to get through to a majority of the students in my class. There is still a number of students who are very difficult to teach, even tame, but it is all a challenge that I signed up for and will continue to work on.
At school this past week a number of things happened that I will never forget. The first occurance came when Lou, one of my downs syndrome students, fell during a foot race with her fellow classmates during reccess. while running she tripped over a rock and fell pretty hard, she scraped her elbow pretty bad, and immediately started crying. Instead of her peers laughing, or not reacting at all, they all came running over to help her up off the ground and see if she was alright. All of these kids have this motherly instinct that is not instilled in the children at home. It was truly heart warming to witness these childrens concern for one another.
Another thing that happened this week that sticks out in my mind is how religous everyone is here. For some reason it did not realize it until this week. In the morning the children pray, first thing, then when they have chai (tea) they pray again. On most days they will recieve ugi (porriage) but before they eat it they pray. Finally at the end of the day they pray before they leave. Then in addition to all of this they will say prayer for someone if they are sick etc.. For example this past week their was some sort of virus going around the house, and on one of the days my fellow volunteer Laura was out for the day. She got a number of prayers from teachers and students. Their general concern for the well being of Laura, and everyone is incredible.

So all in all this past week was very enjoyable, and low key, I made a lot of progress with my students.

This weekend kind was a drag. That virus that I was just talking about wound up knocking me on my ass for a few days. It was awful, all I could to was lay down or sleep. I finished a book though, "Running With Scissors", very, very disturbing, but funny at times. Thank god the sickness is over.
I am trying to push my airline ticket back a week by the way. I think I want to spend a little more time here....and oh yea I have the idea of climbing kili burning in the back of my mind. I dont know if it is just a passing desire or if I might actually try to do it. I have friend at home base climbing this next week, so when he gets back I am going to talk to him and reevaluate my feelings. But I tell you seeing that mountain everyday is sooooo tempting, and when else will I have the chance to climb the tallest free standing mountain in the world!!!

More later

-nick

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb