Kilimanjaro Climb Day 2


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
February 16th 2008
Published: March 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

In Amsterdam we are pretty tired, we slept a small amount on the plane, we took a photograph of ourselves after arriving. Shoshanna was nauseas so we had to keep moving. 3 hr layover.

On the flight from Amsterdam to Kilimanjaro we sat next to an older woman. We did not get her name, though she was pleasant.

The flight was 8 hrs but offered some more scenery. We flew SE over the Swiss Alps which have to jump to the top of the list of the most beautiful things I have ever seen. I'm wary of saying that at the prospect of diluting the sentiment. Over the next two weeks this trip should afford us that opportunity.

I thought of my father on this trip. I often wonder what he would think and if he'd approve or be proud. Even though it's been 21+ years and I was so young, there must be an instinctive desire to please your parents and make them proud because I wonder it a lot. I think my dad circa 1986 would think I was crazy. Though a thrill seeker himself, he had different mediums, but if he were here in 2008, I bed he'd get a kick out of it.

We flew over the Mediterranean Sea which was also spectacular, we saw a lot of little Italian communities that would probably be a great visit.

My first sight of Africa, and it's exactly how I had pictured it - when I was younger. We entered the continent flying over the northern border of Libya, close to it's eastern border with Egypt. For 3 hrs we flew 586 mph over barren, dry, sandy land. No homes, no water, no plants. For 3 hrs we flew over the Sahara Desert. I used to think this barren, dry, landscape comprised all African land sans South Africa, but further education taught me it's got some beautiful countries, rain forests, and of course animals.

Our flight seemed to go by quicker than the first one, aided by two in-flight movies of interest. Up first was Seinfeld's Bee Movie, which I rated a B. Just kidding, I was disappointed and gave it a D+. Next they showed Rush Hour 3. I laughed out loud multiple times. While not a critically groundbreaking film, I love the combination of Chris Tucker and Jackie Chan. I thought of my friend Kariotis while watching this, and gave it an A-.

Shoshanna read a book on the plane called Climbing to the Top - a true story about a climb to summit Everest which resulted in disaster and I believe six deaths. While she thought this would be inspiring and motivating, at it's conclusion, she was not so pleased.

We land at Kilimanjaro Airport. The people are so nice! Sure we are tourists and represent a good portion of their economy (tourism-not us specifically 😊, but they were genuinely very sweet and helpful. Getting our Visa's was quick and painless, was was our luggage! We quickly found our group; Tusker Trails, and were on our way to the Key's hotel.

We arrive exhausted by happy to be here. The air is warm, smells clean and Earthy. We pass a lot of construction and commercial business on the way - business is booming!

We get to the hotel and the others gather for a beer to socialize. We politely decline and hit the hay. Two twin beds in our room with mosquito netting. The mattress is all foam, but not Tempur-Pedic foam, it will do.
I sleep with brief interruptions at 1:28, 5:32, and finally getting up for breakfast at 9am.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0444s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb