It's almost time!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
October 14th 2010
Published: October 14th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone!

Wanda came down to visit me in Arusha last weekend. She stayed with us in our house and she got to have the full Arusha experience. On Saturday I brought her to Camp Moses to meet my kids and the mammas. She took some AMAZING photos with her giant camera! Very print worthy. It was nice because she got to see how I spend my time and why I love being here. Later in the day we went to the used clothes market and went wild. It was fantastic. Anything that reminds me of Value Village is alright in my books. Sunday I took her to Shanga (the bead place I talked about in one of the first blogs) and had a great time exploring there. It was sad saying goodbye because I know I won't be seeing her until she comes back to Canada next August.

Last Thursday one of the cows at the orphanage had a baby!! It was really early in the morning so I missed it and I was really upset. It would have been so cool/disgusting to see it. I was really looking forward to milking it! But then on Saturday night the mom died from complications. It was really sad, and kind of ironic that the baby cow is an orphan... in an orphanage. The calf was roaming around freely for a while, but the kids would freak out if it came too close, so we made a little play pen for it. It is very makeshift. I guess I will just have to sneak in to someones property and try to milk one of their cows now...

There isn't really too much to update you all on these days. Things have been pretty quiet the last few weeks, BUT it is about to get a lot more exciting! Tomorrow is Safari time! It is a 4 day safari in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro crater. I have been practicing all of my lion king songs, and I plan on narrating the whole trip like David Attenborough in Planet Earth. It is bound to be an entertaining trip! I will be sure to update you as soon as I get back and post wonderful pictures from my wonderful camera.

Have a good weekend everyone!!!

Note: full photo credit goes to Wanda, more fantastic shots to come...


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

BrightonBrighton
Brighton

He looks like a Who from Whoville.


Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb