My placement


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
June 11th 2010
Published: June 11th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So finally I got to go to my placement yesterday which I will be doing social work , teaching , n medical work . So to get there I have to take a bus 30 min then walk another 20 min so it's pretty far from town n the buses we take here r like bigger band that they use to put in 30 people so u will always have smone at ur lap haha . Anyways the orphanage is a big house with about 4 rooms to fit 30 kids n a washroom n kitchen n backyard with a tiny swing . They had a stove n a big table for kids to eat at . When I was there only the babies were there cuz the rest were in school , n that is 10 babies for 2 workers so it was really hard to keep up with all . The first room I went in was the babies room n there was one little one he jus stuck out his hands n wanted me to pick him up it was sooo cute n he jus hung on me sooo tight it was soooo cute n heart breaking cuz u can see all jus wanted love from someone n the workers love them jus not enough workers for all , the youngest was 4 months n he was sick , it was really hard to see and heart breaaking to kno someone wud leave their 4 month year old. I feed a couple n they were very happy n taught me some slang , then also went over some numbers with the other older ones n there is one he is mentally challenged n due to shortage of staff no one can help him out , it was reallly hard to see . The kids have nothing there so am very glad I fundraised in Canada to get them clothes , the food , n so far with the supplies I bought I can send them to school , Also their uniforms n get them some medical supplies because they have nothing n the kids r very sick . It's really heart breaking . Unfortunately I cudnt stay longer there for the visit so I had to leave n the little baby boy I was holding would not let go , I had to throw him in his bed n go n he was balling I wanted to cry it was really hard gota say . All in all it was really different to be there n very emtional to just see all these kids with no parents n such need for love , very heartbreaking . It was really different from everything I have seen n very hard to take in . We will c wut happens with them n wit improvments to be ..........,,. Cya next time , lots of love from arusha Tanzania 😊

Advertisement



13th June 2010

Tumaini cottage Arusha
First of all we would like to thank you for your hard work in our Beautiful country Tanzania.Tumaini Cottage bed and breakfast will also like to welcome you to visit our accommodation when you get a chance .We work with alot of volunteers by providing affordable accommodation.Visit us at www.tumainicottage.com. Thanks again

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb