Rumbles in my tumbles


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 14th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

7/14/09:

Greetings all...today was a bit of a dull day, not much to report on.

As usual, Emily and I stayed up late chatting, but once I finally fell asleep I was woken up by consistent stomach pains. This morning I found myself in the fetal position unable to move. Emily made the executive decision that I should miss class (we're doing presentations and it was only a half day) and rest. I couldn't tell you what was wrong with me, but it hurt like hell. I'm guessing something I ate...?

In any case, I missed class, but headed up to the center around 12:30 to finish up my project, as I'm slated to present tomorrow. On my way home I stopped at the market for some peanut butter, jelly, water and some candy for my secret animal. I don't know if I mentioned it, but someone came up with the idea that our whole group should do a "secret santa" gift exchange, only each of us took on a different animal. We're going to have a party next Thursday and you have to dress up as the animal you're supposed to be and give your final gift to the person. We're not doing anything huge, I'm just going to give some candy for a few days and then give Taina (that's who I have) some pretty earrings since she's really into jewelry. How I'm supposed to dress up as a wildebeest, I have no idea. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Too bad I didn't get to be the twiga 😞

We went over to the school today and played with the kids...I spent the day talking with some of the older kids (8-10) and we have a nice talk. Their English is really, really good. They're all so friendly and soft spoken and funny. Although they seem to think I'm really funny because they giggle at me a lot. One girl told me today she likes to touch my "buttery skin"...haha I thought that was funny. A compliment I suppose!

I got a brief workout in before dinner and then just a few of us ate. Some people went to a bbq with some locals, but I was worried about there being food for me to eat (or being surrounded by meat for that matter) so I decided to just stay here and eat my dinner. I might pop to the store for some wine because I could use some, but it depends on if I feel like walking. I'd have a glass of wine here at the hotel, but the wine is BOXED and in a small glass and costs 4,000 TZS! Total rip-off. I don't mind paying 4,000TZS for a decent glass of wine, not poopy boxed chardonnay. Call me a snob but I know most of you out there would agree with me!

Not much in store for the rest of the evening...I have to give my presentation tomorrow on Heifer International-Tanzania. I'm really excited, I think the company is so interesting. I implore you all to take a look at their website: www.heifer.org and the Heifer Tanzania website: www.heifertz.org. They have a great, extensive website with lots of information.

I suppose that's it for tonight...I'm not feeling terribly pensive or creative, so no musing on the plight of Africa, or solutions to development, or the cure for AIDS. Come on now, I can't always be so intelligent and interesting 😉

More to come tomorrow...safari this weekend!!!!!!!!!!

<3<3<3
Much love.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0471s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb