It's been a few months, but now I'm booked


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Since my last blog some months ago, I have now made major progress in my trip up Mt Kilimanjaro.

I have now booked my trek and flights (trek: africantravelresource.com, flights: klm.com) and will be climbing the challenging but rewarding Shira Route. I leave on the 19th August - so now just 9 months to go, it'll come round fast.

I mentioned in my last blog that I'd bought my boots - and they have certainly taken a beating since purchase! A friend and I completed the tough Mountain Trial Challenge (mountain-trail-challenge.com) in the Brecon Beacons. It took us 14 hours to walk 36 miles non-stop. It was seriously tough and very tiring, but all good training for next year.

In January I am camping for 3 nights on Dartmoor, Devon, while walking 10-15 miles per day, building up that endurance training.

I'm also looking into altitude training at Bath University, in preparation of AMS on Kilimanjaro.

My Christmas list is filled with kit! I enjoy buying the gadgets and equipment as much as the trip itself I think.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb