Jambo!


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 14th 2008
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There is an amazing God that guides his children and provide them with more than what they ask. Yesterday, early afternoon, I wrote a few sentences about my first day in Dar es Salaam. Well, I did not know that my experience was about to change once I left the internet cafe.

I was determined to find a cheap place to eat ($2.00 dollars) and according to my book, there was a take away near the internet cafe that I wanted to find. But the map and the streets around where not matching up, and I was getting a bit frustrated because I was very, very hungry. With my head inside my book, I ran into a family of 5 (mother and 4 kids - 2 girls and 2 boys), that spoke perfect English and had beautiful smiles. "Where are you trying to go?", one of the girls asked me. I smiled back and said, "to the Al-Murtaza take away restaurant on Asia street". They all (5 of them) took my book and tried to decipher the map, but no luck. The mother insisted that we try finding the place together, so there I was, having this conversation, walking and being toured with this family around this neighborhood. I could not believe it. I felt like I was walking and laughing with friends from way back, and I just met this family.

"Sorry, the place is closed...today is Sunday", said the 7 year old girl. "No problem, thank you for your help", I said, after being impressed with their hospitality. "We will take you to another restaurant, it is also cheap", the mother said, as she held my arm like if I was one of her daughters. But no luck. When we got there, the ladies did not have the vegetables to make me a veggie burger and did not have potatoes to make me some chips (french fries). Fine, I'll just eat at the restaurant over there and pay the big buck (not really, only $5 dollars, but I wanted the two dollar menu), I had decided inside my head. But that's not where my day begins...."you come to my house, we make you to eat and drink, finish", said the monther pulling on my arm as we started to walk to their home.

I cannot believe this! I am actually at their place, seating in their living room and Mumtaz (the mom) is peeling potatoes for me to eat. How did this happened? the kids (Muzammil, Mehboob, Rehana and Rahima) and I were taking pictures together and sharing stories while my head was trying to make sense to all of this. "Eat, eat, eat more...", that is all I kept hearing while they all watch me eat. They prepared oranges, bananas, papayas and french fries. "You have to eat all", the mom said with a smile on her face. "I will try, but please eat with me", was the only thing coming out of my mouth as I kept stuffing my face with more food.

Mumtaz excused herself while she went and prayed, they are muslims. After the prayer time, I showed the kids how to download their pictures from their camera to the computer and that made their year. They were so happy to add this addition to their home, that I was no longer the center of attention, and that was a nice break. "Now we go to granpas house", they said together as I was trying to excuse myself and go back to my hotel. By this point, I had probably walked about 6 km and was ready for a nap, but not today. We walked another kilometer and went to visit granpa and autie Shamin and her family. Three hours later, I was finally being chaperoned by a Tanzanian family to my hotel.

What a great day. What an amazing day. I prayed early that morning for safety walk and I ended up receiving more than that. Wonderful family, now my friends. I have their p.o. box address and they will be expecting an envelope with funny pictures we took together.

I invited them to my room and shared with them my last bag of M & M's. Great move on my part. The kids loved it. We chatted for another 20 minutes and they went back home. I cannot wait to see the rest of my days here in Africa. I know they will be GREAT!

That night I had dinner with my friend Betty that I met during breakfast time and we also had a good time. I now have a home in Zambia and her contact information. After dinner, she came to my room and I shared my family pictures and of course, my new niece, Rachel as we shared a bag of trail mix.

And that is how my first day in Dar es Salaam ended....

Siempre,

Helen



Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb