Day 6


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
September 26th 2007
Published: September 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's been six days being in Tanzania. I really like it here. Today I took my first trip to the market. It was quite an experience. Everyone wants you to buy something from them, and they follow you for a while until they finally get that you don't want to buy something. They also rip you off they know that we have more money than them and they try and rip you off. We must have gotten everything for a lot more than it's worth, but I guess it's okay since it was our first time. It's so much different going there than it is going to the farmers market back home. It still is crowded at the farmers market, but it's nothing compared to the markets here. I still have to ride the local transit. It's called the dala dala. They have a bunch of twelve passenger buses and they shove as many people into them as they can. The most I heard that was ever on one was twenty-nine. I couldn't imagine being in a little bus with that many people. It defiantly is an experience, and I think that I need to try it. I didn't go see the kids today. I was so tired, and I didn't think I could handle dealing with all of those kids today. I hope that I'm better tomorrow, and that i can go see the kids. Today was a good relaxing day, and I'm glad that I took the day off to relax a little bit. Yesterday night I started watching an Australian soap opera with two other volunteers. It's entertaining and it gives me something to look forward to at night. Everything is still going good for me here in Africa.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.644s; Tpl: 0.027s; cc: 13; qc: 48; dbt: 0.5811s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb