Pete's, Polaroids and the Posse


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
August 21st 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

(remember, we're pretending it's August and I'm in Africa)

Pete
Our group took a field trip to see Pete O'Niel, a self-exiled Black Panther from the US. He and his wife Charlotte moved to Tanzania 37 years ago from Kansas City, where he was the head of the Kansas City Black Panther chapter. He and his wife have developed "United African Alliance Community Center" outside of Arusha National Park. Kids come to the compound to learn music, sewing and other trades, arts and crafts, languages and computers and they also work on community projects such as building a well for running water for the surrounding community. After a tour of the complex and a visit to the music class going on, we sat down to talk with Pete about his work, watched a documentary about him, and then had an amazing dinner, Kansas City style.

Shake it Like a Polaroid Picture and the Upendo Posse
Back at Upendo Foundation . . . One day Shija left Karolyn and I at the office by ourselves and within a few minutes a some of the kids from the village started peeping their heads in to see what we were up to. We pulled out our Polaroid cameras and soon enough it was a party. People LOVE the Polaroids! Think about it; there are barely any mirrors around, rarely a camera, so they don't get to see themselves that often. We ended up using all our film in about 15 minutes but the kids were so excited. After that, every day we would come and go from the village our "Upendo Posse" of children would come running up to greet us. What a way to come and go from work every day. The rest of the week Karolyn made sure we were stocked with film for encounters along the way. Back at CCS, Karolyn and I took some Polaroids of Zik and the office staff and then tried to explain "Shake it like a Polaroid picture!" Finally, I pulled out my computer and played Outkast's "Hey Ya" for them and they LOVED it. Never heard it, but loved it and started singing along. It was a quite a moment.

Oh, Daladalas . . . so here is a picture of a Daladala wiht all the volunteers. I never got one with all the locals but you can get the idea by looking at this picture and imagine 23 people (my record Daladala ride on this trip) in this van with you. On that particular ride I was standing up, my face stuffed in a ladies neck and my buns haning out the window and my friend Geoffrey holding me in by my waist. All this while you're trying to make sure no one dips in your bag to steal something. Good times!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Pete's PadPete's Pad
Pete's Pad

All the buildings are colorfully decorated like this.
So You Know Where You AreSo You Know Where You Are
So You Know Where You Are

And where you're going.
The Upendo PosseThe Upendo Posse
The Upendo Posse

These kids would greet us and hang around the office every day.
UpendoUpendo
Upendo

Upendo is her name, also the name of our foundation.
Upendo and I at my OfficeUpendo and I at my Office
Upendo and I at my Office

Upendo means "Love", which pretty much sums up what I feel for her.
Polaroid PopularityPolaroid Popularity
Polaroid Popularity

Great thing to pack if you volunteer in Africa.
Mzungu DaladalaMzungu Daladala
Mzungu Daladala

Add about 10 more people into this daladala (local bus) and that is what it really feels like.


30th September 2007

great job
Christy, Thank you so much for all the wonderful e mails. I feel I traveled with you. You are a great writer, which I didn't know before. You are my brave, brilliant and beautiful sister-in-law. :-) Nihal

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0358s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb