Conquering Kili


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 19th 2007
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Conquering Kili

 Africa » Tanzania » Arusha By Big Suze
July 19th 2007
Suzie Gingles
I made it!!!!! It was hell on earth for the most part but I summited (after a 7.5 hour hike) on Friday 13 July at 12.30pm. I had really bad altitude sickness for three days, but was determined to reach Uhuru Peak.

The thing I will miss most about my week above the clouds (aside from spectacular views) is being served tea in my tent every morning! Our guide, cook and porters provided an excellent service.

Thank you to those of you who sponsored me.

My African adventure ends this week, and I fly back to Brum on Saturday, 21 July. If anyone fancies a drink sometime next week, give me a shout. I am looking forward to seeing you all again soon.

P.S. I have posted some Zanzibar and safari pictures on my previous entry.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



19th July 2007

YEAH GIRL!!!!
WOOOOOOOOOOOO I AM SO PROUD! YOU ARE THE BEST AND I AM SO HAPPY AND PROUD AND WOW, BRAVO! you wanted to do this so badly, and you did! I would love to hear more about it if you ever get the chance!!! Hope heading home is amazing, have a safe flight .. (although I doubt anything scarees you now!)
19th July 2007

Hooray!
You did it!!! Congrats! We knew you would make it. Your pictures are amazing. Good luck with your transition back to the UK. Miss you!
19th July 2007

congrats
email not workin so a public 1. :) well done. pics are excellent. brum's to far to go for a pint, :) c ya soon. eddie. x0x
20th July 2007

Congrats
Well congratulations on finishing the climb at Kili. Well done. Looks fantastic, well worth the effort, I'm sure. Enjoyed seeing your blog and well done for the volunteer work, you really do seem to have made a difference being there. Look forward to hearing more when you are back home. Karen x
30th July 2007

You rule roomie!
Suz!!!!!! I was thinking of you and your climbing kili! So happy to know you made it safely! I'm soo proud of you! Keep in touch!

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0426s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb