Amazing Arusha


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 19th 2007
Published: July 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So, we arrived in Arusha, Tanzania on Monday and it has been really great so far. WE have a research paper due on Monday so, I have been a bit too busy to get to the internet.

Anyways, on Monday we drove from Kilimanjaro to Arusha to our hotel. WE are only staying in a hotel in Arusha because we are not here long enough to do a homestay. Kind of happy about that. But, our hotel is really nice. We are staying in like these little hut/bungalows that are really cute. There is usually hot water and even more importantly there is water pressure!!! ( I know that only a few people will appreciate this but, you have no idea what a big difference it makes) and our electricity only goes out a few times a day. And the food is good and I have eaten chicken for the first time in about 5 weeks!! All of our little huts are surrounding a little courtyard and there are tons of little monkeys that play in the trees. Which is sometimes cute and sometimes, like when they are having extremely large quarrels or sexy time when we are trying to sleep, they are very annoying.

Anyways, we are staying about a 15 minute bus ride outside of the main part of Arusha. I should mention that Arusha has been experiencing some minor earthquakes this week. They are quite interesting and kind of fun, just as long as they are never longer or bigger than they already have been. But, fear not.

We are in Arusha because we are doing our research papers on the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) and the tribunal is located here. It is really interesting. It is in a huge building and there are so many shiny white UN cars, I can only imagine how much money they spend on this place (about $100 million a year, yeah kind of ridiculous). So, I have been researching in the ICTR library for most of yesterday and some part of today until, I just couldn't deal with the confines of the library anymore. So, I decided to synthesize some of my research outside ina park today and while I was there this huge group of schoolchildren and their teachers came in and they started practicing all of their dances on this huge ampitheater. They were doing songs and dances and then gymnastic type stuff. It was really cute. Provided a little distraction but, it was definitely more than worth it. I mean, I am in Tanzania, I cannot waist all of my time writing a research paper!

Anyways, I should get back to that research paper. But, I am going on a safari in a crater on Saturday and Sunday. I am so excited. I hope we get to see lots of lions and tigers and bears, oh my!

Lastly, I forgot to mention how unbelievably friendly the Tanzanian people are! It is soo refreshing and wonderful!

Anyways, I will be home in exactly one week and I can't wait to see everyone and then go on a nice relaxing cruise!

Peace and Love from Arusha...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0406s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb