New World


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
June 5th 2007
Published: June 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Humjambo-

I have found myself in a new world. Since arriving on Friday I have slept little and made many new friends. The people of Tanzania are incredible. Even though they have so little, I have never experienced so much joy and genuine friendlieness. Homebase is a wonderful place and the mix of people and backgrounds makes for an interesting experience. We have spent the last several days adjusting to our new environment and meeting people in the local community. Truthfully to say it is another an understatement. I am not sure I ever really understood what living on less that $1 a day would look like until two days ago. At this point it is not something I can even put into words. The people in this community value education above all else, and many of the staff at CCS have formed schools in their own homes to try to accommodate the many young children living in the villages. Our night guard Thompson is my new hero and one of the most extraordinary people I have ever met. Knowing there are people like Thompson gives hope that the situation here will one day change for the better. Time to pass along the computer to the next person. Hope all is well with all of you.

Advertisement



5th June 2007

Thanks for checking in! We are thinking of you always (7 hours ahead); it is good to know you have new friends - no big surprise there. Keep the comments coming. xoxoxoxx
6th June 2007

Hey!!!
Wow...that sounds really amazing....i am glad that you are having soo much fun. I can't believe that you are seeing people that live on only a dollar a day...so what are u doing there exaclty?? r u working with the kids?
13th June 2007

Wow!
Sarah, Linda Kiracibasi sent me the blog site.....you are so lucky.....I will continue to follow your experience.....all the best, Patty

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb