In pictures: my life in Milingano


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Tanga
May 2nd 2009
Published: May 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone,

I'm home! I arrived back in the UK on Friday and am thoroughly enjoying Spring-time in Hereford so far. Really looking forward to catching up with you all soon.

Take a look at where I spent the first 3 months of this year - there are 3 pages of photos here which I hope you enjoy!

Laura xxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Teacher LaulaTeacher Laula
Teacher Laula

in the Milingano Primary School staffroom
The Milingano teachers...The Milingano teachers...
The Milingano teachers...

..me, Yvonne, Avis and Polly
First thing in the morning..First thing in the morning..
First thing in the morning..

the children lining up in the school yard
Our street in the early morning lightOur street in the early morning light
Our street in the early morning light

Our house was the third one along on the left
Milingano village squareMilingano village square
Milingano village square

Just a few seconds walk away from our house
My classroomMy classroom
My classroom

(without the hoards of kids inside it)
A typical familyA typical family
A typical family

pounding the maize for their ugali (typical Tanzanian dish)
Trying to teach an old lady how to knit!Trying to teach an old lady how to knit!
Trying to teach an old lady how to knit!

at one of my knitting circle meetings
The new Milingano libraryThe new Milingano library
The new Milingano library

with me as librarian!
At a choir rehearsalAt a choir rehearsal
At a choir rehearsal

.. the recorder helping things along in the teaching of the songs
Some of my Standard 2 boysSome of my Standard 2 boys
Some of my Standard 2 boys

concentrating on their writing


4th May 2009

amazing pics
Laura these photos are AMAZING! I am especially fond of the knitting circle pics, I'm proud of you spreading the skill so far and wide! x
22nd May 2009

Photos
The bikini one is the best - good work girls!
10th January 2010

Fantastic
I was just doing a bit of hunting around to find the places I visited in Tanzania Me and my party passed through Milingano on our way to Yamba up the mountains. We played a game of football with the villagers :)

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb