On placement - it's a job and a half


Advertisement
Swaziland's flag
Africa » Swaziland » Mbabane
November 10th 2006
Published: November 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Swaziland! Am having a great time, having met some wonderful people and am very busy working on my volunteer project. As opposed to teaching in a regular school as originally planned, I've moved to a different and in some ways more challenging project. I'm based at the NCP (Neighbourhood Care Point) where there's about 26 orphaned or 'at risk' children aged between 18 months and 18 years! All the children come to the NCP because they can not afford to pay the school fees required at all schools in Swaziland. All are 'at risk' children either because they are orphans or have lost one parent and likely to lose a second soon. There's no real way of telling but taking in account their backgrounds, maybe about 80% of the children are HIV+.

I still teach maths and English for an hour each day - a seriously challenging task with no paper, pencils, classroom, photocopier, resources, literally nothing. And that's not even taking into account the fact that they have a very limited grasp of the English language and my Swazi, although improving, certainly isn't level 5 standard yet!!!

As well as teaching, I'm using my first aid skills to deal with minor cuts, grazes and burns and sometimes take them to the local clinic. I often find myself in a quandary, wondering "What would Mrs Butler do?!"

We also feed the children at the NCP. They usually have porridge for breakfast and then some kind of pap or maize concoction for lunch. It looks so unappetising, just like slop or gruel, particularly when they eat it with their fingers, but they wolf it down.

Other than that, lots of hugs, games, singing are often on the agenda. The whole experience has been so rewarding so far. These children are so brave and just to see them laugh, play and learn like the children back home brings a smile to my face.

Lots and lots of challenges on a daily basis but hey, it keeps things interesting!

Will update you soon, with hopefully lots of news of glitter and tinsel festivities, of and a maybe nativity play plans - seriously, if I can survive that, I can survive anything.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb