Montazuma's Revenge...


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan
August 29th 2007
Published: August 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been back in Sudan for one week now, and the time really seems to be crawling along. Everyone tells me that once you come back from your first leave of the tour, the flow of time really slows down.... no kidding.

I had a really great visit while I was home, but I think it makes it harder to come back, and jump right back into the mission. It has been a slow adjustment getting back into the flow of things, as there seems to be an overabundance of UNMO's, and a lack of jobs to do. This leads to a lot of idle "office time," and our small fleet of vehicles is now plauged by unservicabilities to boot. Who knew that you couldn't buy vehicles, beat the crap out of them in harsh condidtions, and not purchase any/enough replacement parts for them? Colour me suprisied! (sigh)

Anyhow, the good news is that the rainy season seems to have taken a break, and it has been hot and sunny with only one day of clouds and drizzle all week, the sunshine is always a nice booster to low morale.

Another great booster to morale is coming back from vacation to find SEVEN packages in my container that were waiting to be opened, 3 from my family, 2 from Laura, one from my Aunt Yvonne, and one from Carolyn in Calgary. The package from Calgary was full of 211 "Izzy" dolls, to be handed out to the children while on patrol, and in the local villages. I haven't had a chance yet to hand any out, but I think I will also give some out to other patrols along with my small camera, so I can get some pictures of the children to pass along to Carolyn and her friends that took the time to make the dolls for these children. I think the aim of the dolls is to give children something to play with instead of any UXO's. (un-exploded ordanance) The Izzy dolls are in memory of Mark Isfeld, a Canadian Army engineer that was killed in a minefield in Bosnia.

So thank you to everyone who sent along a package! They are warmly received, and serve to brighten the lives (and stomachs) of many different camp residents.

Laura and I are planning for a 10 day vacation in late Sept, early Oct, possibly
DanielleDanielleDanielle

She is due in mid September... I can't wait to have another nephew!
to Kenya or maybe Europe, ifyou have any advice, please leave it as a comment on the blog!

Many improvements have also occurred in the camp while I was away, the gym was completed and we even got some equipment for it, supplied by the lowest bidder of course. Two of the rownig machines brock within MINUTES of being used; the hydraulic shock mounts sheared right off. Made in China, awesome. It is still an improvement though, and many people are happy to have the option for activity. We also received a Playstation2, and 6-7 board games and puzzles, AND a new 52" Sony Bravia television. Am I the only one that sees a severe difference in spending levels? Very expensive TV, Very cheap gym equipment?
I think someone has their priorities mixed up...

Anyhow, here are some more photos from my trip home and a few from around the camp.

Take care,

Don


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

BFFBFF
BFF

I'm watching you Tim...
Hornby IslandHornby Island
Hornby Island

Brianne, Laura and I. They say trouble comes in three's
Jackson fetchingJackson fetching
Jackson fetching

He makes me want a dog...
Steph and DaniSteph and Dani
Steph and Dani

I was so mad that this turned out blurry.... grrrr
Box of Izzy DollsBox of Izzy Dolls
Box of Izzy Dolls

Courtesy of Carolyn, at the Calgary Military Museum, for the children of Sudan.
Me in CanadaMe in Canada
Me in Canada

Truly the happiest place on Earth.


29th August 2007

Greece was nice
Hey Don, We really liked the Greek islands we visited, although some can be hard to get to but cheap, and others easier to get to but more expensive. All were spectacular, especially Santorini (any shot you see of Greece is usually from here). Take care, we miss you. What do you need/want in a care package? We're due to send you one. jen xo
29th August 2007

Biking on Canadian Holiday
Hey HM, you look great dude. I do have one question for you...why aren't there any shots of you biking during your time back in Canada? Where are your priorites man? Girlfriend, family, friends, kayaking....humbug. Biking, say it with me, biking.... Anyway looks like you're keeping your spirits up, mind you I don't think I've ever seen you overly sad. Sorry we couldn't hook up while you were here; my holiday back in Ontario with the family was a lot of fun for Angela, Me and the kids. The guys are going to Whistler to bike this weekend (BBB, Timmay, Pic and NM! (who you don't know)) are going. I'm still on the injured list due to a spill I took at Forbidden a couple of weeks back, so I can't make it. See, we're both missing it! Keep posting buddy, I love checking out this BLOG to see what you're up to.
31st August 2007

Priorities.
Ha ha. Good observation HM: big expensive TV and crappy sports gear. Well, from the pics, it looks like you've lost a few pounds...we won't be able to call you DH now. As for riding, we'll do lots of rides up island when you get back. Family first...well maybe second after the gf...then the boys at CoW. Heading to Whistler this weekend, I'll try to throw down HM style. Cheers.

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0402s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb