Enroute to Torit


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Torit - TukulsTorit - TukulsTorit - Tukuls

"Tukuls" are the mud walled huts with thatched roofs
June 6, 2007 - Juba

I arrived in just under 2 hours from Khartoum, and realized I had no idea wahtI was supposed to do after that. Oops.

After the hard braking on the runway, I was halfway-sure we were going to overshoot, and fly off the end of the runway, but we managed to stop with under 1000 feet to spare. In the air force world, thats not a whole lot of extra room.

I got off the airplane, followed everyone else inside and realized.... yup. I had no clue where I was supposed to go. I finally found a few fellow enlgish-speakers and was directed to a gentleman that told me the luggage would be arriving in the parking lot by tractor shortly. Nice.
We found our luggage, re-sorted it according to final destination, and got on a bus to take us to the UN helicopter terminal. What a treat.

The terminal was hot, and smelled like a combination of recycled air and REALLY bad B.O. Wow.

So I am finally in Africa. The countryside has rivers, and is green and lush as far as I could see from the plane. The air is cooler, but more humid than Khartoum, so that is one nice feature. We'll see if I still say that in 5 months.

Later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

The White NileThe White Nile
The White Nile

The White Nile joins with the Blue Nile at Khartoum, forming The Nile, which flows North through Egypt to the Mediterranean


8th June 2007

King of da Nile
Cool, you've seen the Nile!! I think that's the first thing you've mentioned that has made me jealous...haha. Looks to be very scenic, keep up with the pics!
16th June 2007

Hi Don, it is great to read about your trip. Thanks for sharing. I worked in a safari lodge in Northern Uganda in Murchison Falls national Park. We were always under threat from the Lord's Resitance Army and I heard terrible stories about what they had done in the area. There was even a travel warning on for travelers the whole time I was there. So, in short, I sympathize with your stories but am also so proud and thankful to know you and gratful that you are doing what you're doing. Thanks from all of us and the tormented tribes people I met in the north of Uganda. I've lived in northern africa too so I am glad to see you are in the "bush" now. Much nicer than the dusty desert. Have fun and be safe. Cleo

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0688s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb