Day two...back from Dodge


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan » North » Khartoum
June 21st 2006
Published: June 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, today was an early morning being blasted out of bed to Muslim prayers on a loudspeaker from (I presume) the local Mosque. Needless to say, given my lack of sleep the night before...I was quite bitter.

After a breakfast of crummy eggs and this bread akin to pita-bread, most of us set out for the West (the Darfur region therein). I got alot done during the day actually. I vox-recorded 14 interviews (w/ an interpreter of course, as I dont speak any Arabic, yet anyways..), and we got to film another 4 short ones right around the time that we left. We drove East after we ate dinner (rice and cooked fish, courtesy of Raymond {a freindly sec. guy from Kentucky}), and had planned on stopping in this town and staying in this one town with a half-decent hotel that alot of other journalists and "pressies" from europa were staying at, but then we heard of, then heard, then saw that the janjaweed (Arab and Arab-sponsored militiamen) were coming in on technicals and lorries. Consequently, every pressie worth his salt "got the hell outta Dodge" so to speak (hence the title), except I heard that a car of Japanese guys got stopped before they could get out. Nobody has heard anything, and I have a strange feeling that we will be hearing about them in a few days on BBC, as bad as that sounds. As an aside, I find it really weird that I can write about this stuff and seem so calm and collected about it. I dont really understand why its like that, but Lars said that its a good thing to have. From what I have seen already, I think it'll be an advantage to be inured to some of the stuff that goes on here on a day to day basis.

I guess part of me is still in the "what the hell is happening stage". It is insane the way it is here. Some parts are relatively tranquil, only to be disrupted by these random instances of violence and just about any other form of depredation. For instance, the area around our hotel (called "1st Base" by everyone, after all, we are a bunch of guys, or men rather...hey, that even counts me now...an odd thought at times) is largely as nice as it gets here; but last night one of the Russians was awoken to noise outside early in the morning. We were all eventually woken up by it. Juan went outside the hotel (something I wouldnt do) and found out the source of the noise, which was a group of children screaming because a group of men came into their little shack, woke them all up, and commenced to rape their prostitute mother. Juan chased them off (being the 230 pound LA mexican beast that he is), but he came back to the hotel and told us what hapened, and then walked into my room and just started crying. He said that he has been a Security contractor for over 5 years, and the military before that, but that he cannot become immune to seeing things like that and that they get him everytime. I was at a loss for words really, but we prayed together (my Christian way, as oppossed to his Catholic liturgical way), he ended up sleeping on the wooden stool that he was sitting on against the wall in my room for about 3 hours until morning prayers came along.

I am optimistic as far as to what tommorow will bring, but I just hope that we can conduct our interviews and photography safely and without any need for last minute flight again. I also hope to find some guy who will sell me a low-end digital camera for less than 5 times the American price for a top of the line one, but I know it'll work out. I have had no luck with trying to borrow, as every other guy here is so busy with their own for their own work, oh well, I'll use the Dinosaur camera and take it with a real mans film, haha.

Well, I am going to end this one...and go and look at my myspace or something, as I can never really escape the trappings of America, as long as I have the ability to beam internet access here.

Until next time,

David

Advertisement



22nd June 2006

Life's journey is not always easy.
Thank you for taking time to let us know how and what you are doing. Bloody scary country though; I wonder if anyone there is happy? ... It is so sad to hear how much suffering goes on in other parts of the world. When faced with things we cannot change... We are not asked to always understand, but to put our faith in the One who does. Romans 11:33 God be with you to guide and protect you.
22nd June 2006

...safety is key...
It's best to be alert and "in code orange" all the time you're out - watch everything but be confident and pleased to be there, to minimize the chances of people thinking of you as someone they don't want there. Of course, focus on the job, but keep the plight of the people in mind. We pray God guide and protect you; you should ask Him for this regularly. Remember, we have the same God and Saviour as your Catholic friend, so there really is no fundamental difference in prayer, except that they seem to pray through saints as mediators sometimes, where we speak directly to God. Catholics seem to end many of their prayers by reciting the way Jesus taught his disciples to pray, which is great as long as you're paying attention to what you're saying and not just pumping out the sound of it. God knows our hearts; we can fool men, but not God. This is a valuable experience for you and will shape your outlook on life (assuming you survive it, naturally) so while relying on God to be your protector, keep alert and try to make good choices. Best to you and thanks for chronicling your adventures.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb