Firearms check in and wine in your hand luggage


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
January 20th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

South Africa was the chosen vacation destination and honestly I can't remember now why we chose it. A little over 10 days across Cape Town and Kruger enthused us a lot about the country that I was quite apprehensive visiting. Ever had the experience of random people talking to you about topics that they have no clue about but still think its an opinion well shared....Well that was what happened when South Africa became our vacation hotspot. By the time we boarded our flight I was convinced that people were going to slit my throat if I got out of the car and there is always the threat of getting shot when you are in it!!

Cape Town was where we started the trip that turned out to be a lovely vacation. A rental car, good weather, good food and good wine all made for what was a lovely week. Driving distances are easy, infrastructure was fantastic and most importantly the people were very nice. We drove to the Cape of Good Hope, Simon's Town and a bunch of the suburbs around taking in the breathtaking views and just enjoying the good climes. Table Mountain was really nice but hugely overrated in my view and our 2 attempts to get to the top via the cable car were thwarted...once due to the strong winds and second due to all tourists in the Cape Town area waiting for the cable car ride!! The mountain itself was beautiful but personally i loved the table mountains in Turkey more. Well, what can I say, Turkey still trumps South Africa!

A few days at winelands, Franschoek in particular, we were inebriated enough to head to the animals up in Kruger. Good weather held up and Kruger was equally inviting as against the heat and yellow desolate stretches of reserve we were told to expect. I am happiest when the weather is ambient (my ambient!) and is it too much to expect the animals to be available for viewing when I go?? Well, like all tourists we went hoping to see the "big 5" and we did see most except the cats. Self driving through Kruger was definitely rewarding and my experiences with trying (no struggling!) to move our car with an elephant passing behind us will most definitely haunt me awhile!!!


Heading off to Zambia....

Let me explain the title of this note..... 3 things that completely endeared me to this country (apart from the natural splendours, people and wine, not necessarily in that order) - they are so easy on entry, no fancy immigration forms and lines for this welcoming country - its enter at your own peril and we will offer you the best and I loved it. Second was their domestic airline policy - within the country you can carry upto 3 (or 2) bottles of wine in hand luggage and thirdly what completely tickled my senses was a firearm check in counter at the airport. Needless to say, I loved the country!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb