Cape Town!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
March 1st 2008
Published: March 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cape Town is amazing. I’m not sure if it’s because of the delicious seafood on the wharf, the markets filled with wooden giraffes and glass beads, or the fact that I’m not automatically pegged as a tourist, but this place is wonderful. I’ve heard a lot of people say it reminds them of Australia, but I’ve never been so I can’t say. I’m reminded a lot of San Francisco, minus all of the hills.

Our AFP was actually good this time! We talked with people from a Center for Conflict Resolution and from the University of Cape Town about reconciliation, education and local politics. We were able to go inside Parliament, which was slightly disappointing because our guide wasn’t able to answer many of our questions about South Africa in the international arena. We also saw a play as a part of our AFP one evening, but it was mostly in Afrikaans so we couldn’t understand it. They would tell a joke in English and then deliver the punch line in Afrikaans. We were frustrated that we couldn’t laugh along and get the jokes! The most interesting part of the AFP was visiting Robben Island, where Nelson Mandela was exiled for 18 years. We had a guided tour with a former political prisoner of the island. The unemployment rate here is 43%, so the men are only guides because they can’t find another job. I can’t imagine having to be in a place that I was kept prisoner every single day, just so I can feed my family. The psychological trauma must be astounding. Probably the highlight of the last 2 months was seeing a penguin on Robben Island. I saw only one, waddling down the road, but it was enough to make my entire year. I’m hoping to go to the beach to see lots of penguins in a few days, but my first real life non-zoo penguin experience was exhilarating!

Two days ago the German Navy showed up in the port. We were the only boat here and now there are 4 huge grey ships that are turning out to be quite the tourist attraction. Actually, they are opening the ships to tours today and tomorrow so hopefully I can go check it out. My friend Felicity is German, so she was talking to a lot of the men last night at the pub. They are basically on a training mission and they don’t know their assignment yet, but they think they’ll be doing peace keeping efforts in Kenya. Those of us on TSS seem a lot more important now that we can flash our ID cards and get onto the docks with the German Navy!

I’ve had some amazing food the last few days. Ostrich, Springbok and lots and lots of seafood. Last night a group of us went to a nice restaurant and they actually brought us a box of knives and we got to pick our own knife! That is certainly the first time that has happened to me and I was clueless as to what knife to pick. I just use what’s put in front of me!

Right now I’m headed out to hike Table Mountain and tonight I’m going to a ballet. We’ve seriously been on the go 24-7! Tomorrow is my exciting day & I’m finally ready to reveal my secret plans! (Gram, you might want to just skip the rest of this paragraph!) In the morning we are going sand boarding and in the afternoon I will be skydiving!!! I might pee myself, or cry, or both. I’m not nervous yet but I can guarantee I’ll feel sick when I wake up tomorrow morning. Heights aren’t exactly my thing, but I figure this is the best way to conquer my fear. Plus I’ve heard the view is absolutely incredible!

I’m still not sure my exact impression of this place. I’ve been having some kind of culture shock being back in a developed country where I can drink the water, not to mention visit the Louis Vuitton store down the road. But even though this place feels like home in some aspects, it still has one of the largest gaps between rich and poor, and petty crime is unbelievable. South Africa has the highest number of reported rapes in the entire world and it is absolutely not safe to go anywhere alone. Our first night here a girl got mugged with a knife to her throat. I haven’t seen a lot of the poorer areas of the country because I’ve been in the rich sections of Cape Town, but I know they exist. I know there is poverty…there has to be with half of the country not working. I feel like I’m in strange mix of California and India…California with the yachts and outdoor cafes, and India with the corruption, guns and crime.

Despite all of the downfalls, this country is still beautiful. The scenery is amazing, the wildlife is unbelievable and I think to live here it’s a pre-requisite to be gorgeous. I’m looking forward to the last half of my week here, and I hope I can get outside of the rich bubble of Cape Town and really see South Africa.

I haven’t had time to find an internet café yet, so I’m writing this from the boat, hence no pictures. I will definitely be finding internet in the next 3 days so I promise lots of Africa pictures then! I’m off to go hike the mountain…wish me luck tomorrow! I know once I’m standing on an airplane with only a parachute strapped to my back, I’m gonna need it!

xoxo


Advertisement



2nd March 2008

no to skydiving
Okay, I've been pretty open and tolerant with your world-travel and the risk involved, but you can sky dive in America. Maybe this is the time to just say no. Pleeeeeeaaasssseeee! Love you, Mom xoxo

Tot: 0.235s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb