Swartberg Pass


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
March 2nd 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today we ride from Prince Albert to Capetown, our last day of riding. :-(

Peter and I are riding Swartberg Pass this morning. The group arranges for Frank to wait at the entrance of the pass until Dave and John sweep through to make sure everyone has made it through safely. I’m excited to take my bike on such a rough road but concerned about the weight (dirt bikes are half the weight of street bikes) and the cost of replacing fairing parts (after falling).

I take it easy at first but soon realize the bike handles well on dirt. Soon I’m going 120 on the straights and sliding the back wheel exiting the turns. As my riding mentor would always say “get on the throttle early and pin it!” I can’t believe we reach the top so soon. The view is spectacular! I’m so tempted to ride down and do it again!

There’s a miss cue between Peter and I on where to meet up after riding the pass. I ride down the shorter route until I come across a family waiting by the side of the road. They look visibly scared when I pulled up and asked if motorcyclists have ridden by. I can’t understand why. Eventually Peter and I sync up.

We ride through Oudtshoorn, Calitzdorp and Ladysmith until we arrive at Ronnie’s Sex Shop. Apparently the roadside café owner wasn’t able to get motorists to stop in so he decided to change the name of his establishment. Business has been booming.

We eventually make our way back into Capetown. I make a side trip to Camps Bay to pickup a souvinier and spend a few minutes walking the beach and reflecting back on my 5000km bike trip through South Africa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0677s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb