Week 2 - Land Rovers and Cape Point


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Simon's Town
August 24th 2008
Published: August 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As it has been about 2 weeks since we left work I’m starting to wonder how I ever fitted everything in, that’s right I didn’t. One of the benefits of not being at work is that I don’t have to shave therefore I have decided that I will trial out various hirsute arrangements over the coming weeks. This week you can marvel at my goatee in honour of my good friend Takis. I have teamed the goatee with my bandana for the Canadian look, this is just Tom’s benefit. Any future facial hair suggestions please let me know.

The other day, saw another pod of whales just off the beach - they stayed around all day and treated us to several breeching sessions unfortunately the nearby kayakers were not knocked into the water for shark food. We decided against any surfing this week after The Cape Times carried an article on a seasonal increase in white shark activity around coastal areas in the next few weeks. I’m not convinced enough that the shark spotters can see everything they need to from up on the mountain, therefore all swimming this week has been confined to the tidal pools.

In case you think all we do is sit about in the sun you’ll be pleased to hear it’s been raining a bit this week, especially today. This has provided me the opportunity to read up on the Olympics. To be honest it doesn’t feel much different from being at home since South Africa have managed to win only 1 medal so far. I can’t believe how well GB is doing. We have also been looking at various Land Rovers this week with a view to buying one next week. So far the leading candidate is a green 110 TD5 hardtop with all the accessories necessary for over landing, I’ll probably never have to use the low ratio gears but at least I can fit my fishing gear in. Basically is a big gas guzzling chunk that does about 7 km to the litre but looks pretty indestructible, sorry Kev think my carbon footprint might just get a bit bigger.

We spent yesterday in Cape Point Reserve doing some hiking, basically along the coastal path and then up through a ravine, behind the coastal mountains and back around. While loads of people go to this reserve, all everyone seems to do is head for Cape Point and the sign which says the Cape of Good Hope, there are loads of hikes and animals in the reserve but we didn’t see anyone else all day where we hiked. Since there has been so much rain there is abundant growth and as a result we saw quite a few animals, mostly reptiles (cape griddled lizard, rock agama and a few tortoises). We also saw a herald snake however this was dead and didn’t warrant a photo. We also walked up on a family of Ostriches. I offered Sandra 20 Rand to retrieve a small chick for dinner however she didn’t feel she could run fast enough. I think she probably could with an angry 10ft bird after her.

Finally I have included a picture of a dog who has adopted us. She’s from down the road and gets left out all the time but everyone around here feeds her so she decided to try her luck with us. As she seemed to know exactly where we lived and wandered up 3 flights to sit outside our door I couldn’t not give her a biscuit. Tonight is beer drinking night so we are off to Polana which is a great bar at the edge of the sea, I’ll have one for all of you.


SANDRA
Tom, when your other half asks you what you think of their outfit, what do you say? Exactly, tell them they look nice no matter what! Otherwise there’s another half hour wait while they change their outfits!!!!! Anyway it keeps his bald head from getting burnt!



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Angulate tortoiseAngulate tortoise
Angulate tortoise

Remember Aunty Jeans advice - These wee on you when picked up!!!
Angulate tortoise 2Angulate tortoise 2
Angulate tortoise 2

It's false that these move slowly - I now know how it beat the hare!!
Ostrich and chicksOstrich and chicks
Ostrich and chicks

Mmmmm - They looked so tasty


24th August 2008

monkey business
Tell Matt that I think his twin got the good looks! So envious. You look like your having a blast. Sent a private email but dont know if I did it properly. Please let me know if you received it. By the way I can now text.
26th August 2008

Week 2!
Wow, you've certainly been fitting in a lot of stuff, Matt keep up the good work on the blog, it's really nice to hear about all the various things you've been up to and seen. Re the photo's there are a number of things that spring to mind, but I'll keep it brief(!). Matt you look totally different but taking photos to honour Takis Martakis is odd. Sandra, I am always ready in about 5 minutes as Matt will testify, he always had a ready comment or two about my sartorial elegance, eg, ' is that your grandads shirt/jumper/jeans etc'. It was always highly amusing and never boring, eh Matt?! Lastly yes I always compliment Louise on her outfit otherwise I'd never get out the house!! On a more serious note, keep up the blog and photos, it's really interesting to see somewhere else of the world with first hand commentary and also look after the mutt!!! (I'm talking about the Dog not Matt....... ; - ) T x
28th August 2008

Wishing you well
Brilliant blog!! Goatee is clearly growing rapidly and the bandanna must cover a full afro by now!?? Good to see that its has to be a Land Rover that you are putting your faith (and money) into – one of the many benefits of the Empire! Keep it coming and may the force be with you both – for The Journey. Andy leaves the bank tomorrow so we will be down the pub in Bristol thinking of you both, tomorrow. Cheers!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0628s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb