back to south africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Knysna
January 7th 2012
Published: January 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

no, we didn't fly back to south africa, I just thought I'd talk about our trip after the last post from there. I had writen about the cheeta tour (sorry for all the bad spelling) last. That afternoon we drove to knysna to go mountain biking. Oops. it was closed, it was still a holiday. so sad, I was really looking forward to it. We then broke up into 2 groups. one group when kayaking and one group went on an elephant tour. Guess which one Shelly went with, yep, you're right. I went on the elephant tour. we both had a blast.

the next day we got up early and drove a long way and then went on some wine tours. the wines were wonderful. I would love to spend extra days there to enjoy the wine. The views on all the drives were just wonderful. I can't wait to share all the pictures.

The next day was a shorter ride and we went to where we were zip lining. Shelly saw kayaking. Guess what she did instead. yep. the rest of us went zip lining in the jungle. we both had a blast and then for dinner ate on the water near where Shelly kayaked.

Then the next day we headed to Cape Town (I feel like I missed a day. I'll have to go thru all the pictures).

In Cape Town, we took the cable car up to the top of table mountain. Beautiful views but the line was toooooo long. Shelly gave up and took a train and found, guess what, kayaking. she is such a water junkie. IN the afternoon, I took a city tour. I had the option of biking, Tony did, but 1) they drive on the opposite side of the road, 2) it was in downtown with all the traffic and no traffic lanes and 3) it was with Tony who would stop and take 1000's of pictures. So, I opted for the city tour. It was very informative. That night we went to the waterfront for dinner. we ate Indian and it was great.

the next morning we woke up and did a group kayak to see the penguins. They were one boat short and our guide would not be able to go, so Shelly convinced them to let her take out a single kayak instead of a double. So that meant I became the guide for the double. it was a tough kayak ride. we kayaked into the wind and it was very brisk. We switched up some at the break, but I was still the captain of the boat (steering and commands). We got close tot he rocks this time. it was scary. Saw the penguins but i couldn't take pictures. I hope to get some from Tony's camera.

After kayaking, we then went mountain biking to cape hope and the southern most tip of Africa. We ate a picnic lunch on the route. Lots of small hills, it was a tough ride. We then had a hike to the top of the mountain with the lighthouse and then more biking. Again beautiful views.

Dinner back at the waterfront, and then our goodbyes to the group. Our flight was at 7am the next morning and we had to leave around 4:45 (and pack) so we had to get to bed early.

South Africa is great. The views are spectacular, the wildlife great. except for Krueger and the lodge, I really didn't feel like I was in Africa. It is very European. Everyone was friendly and I can definitely see I will come back some day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb