Cape Town I've landed!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Gansbaai
October 2nd 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well, only just arrived really but quick update.
I flew into Cape Town after a flight taking in total around 18 hours! didnt get much sleep, not fun. So kinda caught up once I reached my base, well for the first night anyway, a hostel called Zebra Crossing, which seems pretty cool.

Only there for 1 night as the next day bright and breezy I was picked up (4.30am) to be taken to The Great White Shark Project in Gansbaai, a few hours east of Cape Town. We arrived and straight away were given jackets and our uniform and allowed on board to go see us some sharks!!! this time as clients next few times would be working. We headed out and within a couple of minutes our first Great White shark appeared - absolutely amazing! Even got to have a go in the cage itself - all I can say is WOW! so utterley amazing, I was awe struck and these guys apparently were babies by comparison to some that are occassionally seen, but being so close to these immense powerful creatures was quite a thrill that turned quite a few of us into excited kids.

I now have 2 weeks here learning about the Great White and how to work the boat, cages, chum and with clients. Should be fun. Sharing the house with a fun mix of people, a smallish group which should work nicely. After the 2 weeks I return to Cape Town before my next project begins - with Whales and Dolphins.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

cage divingcage diving
cage diving

the cage diving cage can be partially seen


6th October 2009

Such a rush!
Shark cage diving is such an adrenaline rush! I remember when I came to Cape Town it was one of the adventure activities I needed to do before I left.
6th October 2009

Amazing! Just mindlessly browsing through travelblog, and low and behold I find you. Looks like you're up to amazing things now! White Sharks.. Crazy. Stoked for you mate! Take care. P.S Just to jog your memory, I am Danny the Tasmanian from the boat to Flores haha.
7th October 2009

SOUNDS INCREDIBLE
WOW sounds amazing hun, cant wait for the slide show when you get back xxx Much love and durrrrn dun......durrrrrn dun......durndundurndundurrrrrndun badurdurrrrrrr xxx

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0561s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb