Quick Update


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Franschhoek
May 2nd 2007
Published: May 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven't been very good about keeping this updated. Nothign too exciting has been happening so I just haven't felt the need to write.

Since I last wrote I have done the following:
District six museum. District six was a multi-racial neighboorhood in Cape town and in the 1950's it was emptied and destroyed. There were over 50,000 people who were forced to move out and placed in to various townships. The idea was for it to be a white neighborhood but it was never re-created. There is nothing there now. The museum represents the people who were forced to leave and their stories.

Wine and Cheese Festival- SO delicious! It was a rainy day but most of the tastings were under tents. AIFS took us on this excursion and you could do all the wine and cheese tasting you wanted. They also had many olive oils, pestos, and chocloates. It was amazing- despite consuming a zillion calories!

Century City- Africa's largest mall. It was nice but fairly pricey- they don't really have sales like they do in the US and most of the clothes are imported so they are expensive. I did manage to snag a scarf and a pair of shoes for about 10 USD- so that was sweet. Yes I did say scarf- it has gotten chilly in SA!

Franschhoek- cute litte afrikaans community. Beautiful drive and wonderful food, as well as a trip to a chocolate factory. I don't think I need to say more!

Other then that life has been good- keeping busy with school. Its cram time. Most of my friends back home are finished already or finsihing this week and next and it is crazy! I still have 6 weeks left so I'm not really even thinking of school being over really - but it is coming faster then I think it will! Two more papers and 2 huge exams...ick. All in the same week!

Thats all for now.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0852s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb