Dizzy Heights of Independence


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
December 22nd 2004
Published: October 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


22 Dec 2004:

First time out of the country alone AND first time in Africa - apprehensive? not 'arf! But just looking out over Table Mountain, as the plane sweeps over Cape Town, the excitement is unbearable - no fear what-so-ever - I'm actually feeling rather emotional (in a happy way) at the beginning of my independence. I get the growing feeling this may be the start of the rest of my life.

John and Lidia live in a very civilized part of town, Constancia, or the Cape's equivalent of Chelsea back home, nestled beneath the protective peer of the mountain range and facing the bracing warmth of the coastline. Having seen books and photos of South Africa for years, particularly Cape Town, I was not surprised that it felt more like a trendy European city than an African outpost. There are differences... the vast array of fruit and meats at the supermarket, 'Woolworths' is in fact really 'M&S' and there is no social pub scene here... which explains why the Saffas all go crazy on the beer when they hit London :o)

I am immediately immersed into the Futter clan, visting the family vet practice and homestead, complete with pool over-looking the mountain base. These folks are truly hospitable and I feel like I've been here for years already. Lidia is being a real Mum, taking control of my 20 kg rucksack - repacking it with the stuff I'll really need (halterneck tops and floaty tiny skirts are dumped for my return visit, in favour of khaki shirts and hats). John loans me one of the biggest flick-knives I've ever seen in my life and one of the heaviest blinding torches. Now I know I have the tools to kill any predator - I'll accidentally bash it around the head with a 2 tonne maglight.

I am told all the horror stories, tales of heroic acts and mighty game caught by the Futter clan and their friends and, lo - I am ready for anything.



25 Dec 2004:

It is Christmas day and the Futter clan have invited me along to join their family and friends to celebrate South African style - outside by the pool with a bbq, YAAY!!!!

As I leave them and head to the hostel, where I will start my long journey with the tour group, I feel apprehensive and very naiive for the first time... did I really think I'd manage this trip without my hairdryer? Were my mates right to think I'm insane for sleeping in a tent for 60 days? Are the spiders REALLY that big???

As John drives away and leaves me to stew in my little room at the Lions Head Lodge, I lock my door about 50 times, pack and repack my rucksack endlessly, toss and turn at every sound from the street below and receive my first 'blood letting' by a mosquito with a mouth the size of the Mersey Tunnell.

Tomorrow is an early start - boxing day and heading out on the biggest adventure of my life with a bunch of total strangers in the back of a lorry.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0384s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb