Travelblog: Once in a Lifetime....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
November 30th 2000
Published: November 30th 2000
Edit Blog Post

Subject: Blog: Once in a lifetime? Chapter 1
From: _Schwann_
Even before 9/11 I started hating air travel but my old-school friend Roy, who now lives in London, but owns hotels in Spain, has lured me North to Spain for the summer with offers of a Villa with a Mercedes convertible and a 30ft twin V-8 power boat to play with, when I'm not hanging out on the Piazza surrounded by beautiful sweating girls in white lycra.
Talking Heads sing; "Same as it ever was".
Can't get it out of my mind as the date for my departure by ship to Tenerife gets closer.
"There is water under the ocean. Water. Let the days go by. Into the blue again. The silent water."
It must have been some years back I promised myself that the next time I travel abroad I'm going to do it by ship, not a passenger ship, a working boat. Some time after being convinced by Roy I found myself phoning the number of a shipping company my cousin had given me and this set into motion a chain of events. Weirdly enough, my ticket does not guarantee that the ship will stop in the Canary Islands, nor which island it will stop at if it does. If I get lucky I'll have a chance to get a ferry from from Las Palmas to Tenerife to see the third largest live volcano on Earth but if the boat doesn't stop there, well, I'll eventually get to Rotterdam, or some other Europort. Whatever happens I aim to film and document the sea voyage for a local travel mag with the help of a Canon XM-2 3CCD vidcam and Fuji 6.02 digicam. Road warrior is a Sony Vaio TR3AP3 ultrathin with a gig RAM and some neat extras which edits full frame media and authors to CD/DVD. Once in Europe, I'll be able to log on in the various countries I'll be passing through before ending up at the Villa. In June, Malaga, Spain, Dennis Mckenna is threatening to show up to help me finish my Terence Mckenna movie, and also to have some fun, while Roberto Venosa and Martina Hoffmann are conducting a Dali workshop at Cadaques. In July, the Berlin fashion show afterparty will be held in Ibiza. August is with Alex and Rachelle with the druids at the Edinburgh Film Festival and if I last that long there's always Boom Boom in Portugal in September.
Same as it ever was?
schwann
www.webtrance.co.za

Advertisement



9th July 2004

Schwann does it again.
For a guy with a wife and four kids to book onto a cruise freighter alone and then have a place waiting on the Costa del Sol....truely amazing. But have heard that the family's taking revenge and have all joined him there. If the quantity of his poetic output remains the same....I'll be even more amazed.

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb