Hello from Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 19th 2006
Published: May 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

YVR or BustYVR or BustYVR or Bust

I am SO far from home
Hello from South Africa. Hello from Cape Town! I made it! Well...some of you may have heard and some may not so I'll keep it brief. First of all I'M OK! But a couple of days ago...few! On the flight I got real sick. Turned out to be really bad food poisoning and as a result I became severely dehydrated and as a result of that I fainted a bunch, and barfed a bunch, flight attendants, paramedics, customs officers, ambulance, hospital, nurses, doctors...WHAT A STORY! It all ended (hours later) with a call to my hotel. They sent someone to fetch me and wow what a fabulous hotel it is! I LOVE IT. Anyway...back on track...

Today I managed to get out and wander my neighbourhood. CIVILIZATION HORRAY!! I'm staying in an area call the V & A Waterfront. Just a smidge outside of the central business district and from what I hear the most tourist friendly area in Cape Town (kind of like Granville Island). From here you can get fabulous views of the South Atlantic (!!!), the city and Table Mountain. Lots of shopping and restaurants...really GOOD looking restaurants (but I must wait...patience grasshopper). There are also a
V & A WaterfrontV & A WaterfrontV & A Waterfront

towards CBD
bunch of really great local craft / artisan shops plus this is also the departure point for Robben Island (which I will do Monday). But the best part about this neighbourhood is the salty air. AHHH...so Good! Anywho...hope to visit Cape Peninsula tomorrow and wineries (finally!) Sunday. Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Hello from Cape TownHello from Cape Town
Hello from Cape Town

tiz a salty place...arrr
Clock TowerClock Tower
Clock Tower

and departure point for Robbin Island
Saucy SealSaucy Seal
Saucy Seal

sneaking up on the tourists...tsk tsk


Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0219s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb