Cape Town Baby


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 16th 2011
Published: January 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Its day 1.5 or what seems like day 4. I left my apartment in New York City on Thursday morning at 6:45am. South African airways suggest you arrive 3 hours early no matter what! OK then…

I check in and sit and wait until my plane takes off about 15 minutes late. Amazing! What is more amazing is that the guy sitting next to me is early 30’s (if I had to guess). A cross between Jake Gyllenhaal (eye’s) and Brad Pitt’s chiseled face. OYE. Of the 15 hour flight, we spoke about 8 hours of the time. He works with some Italian photographer and he is always on call to do international shoots. Can I have his job please? Besides the 3 kids surrounding us, the flight wasn’t all that bad. Upon arrival at Johannesburg 15 hours later, we had to collect our luggage and re-check in. Turns out hottie potati is on my flight to Cape Town AND has the same seat again… next to me! WTF! Awesome J

While we wait to collect our luggage, dream boy gives me his info and asks that I email him next month when I get back to New York… did I forget to mention he lives in Brooklyn?

I head outside of the Cape Town airport and my host is waiting for me. Immediately he tells me he is not going to let me sleep and he is going to drop me off at the V&A Waterfront. I was so exhausted I didn’t even have it in me to say no. I figured this guy must know best? It was beautiful. The last time I was at a marina with such life was probably Darling Harbor in Sydney. Perhaps it was all the seafood restaurants, the boats, the shops… I don’t know but it was lovely. Also, it was about 80 degrees today. Yes – I am dodging winter in New York if you haven’t yet noticed. After 3.5 hours of eating some fresh fish, going to the aquarium and getting a 30 minute massage as I my back was hurting, my host picked me up and brought me to the guesthouse. Oh boy… this place is BEAUTIFUL! It turns out I am here with the host/host (I am pretty sure these guys are partners) and 2 dogs and a wolf. YES, my host prepped me all about their wolf who thinks he is human. As soon as I got here, the wolf (named Alexander the Great) jumped up and I was waiting for the wolf to turn human and suddenly stand in front of me as a naked Jacob or the hottie from True Blood… this is how large this animal is. I did give some Eskimo kisses once the wolf calmed down. What a beautiful animal! My job is to stay awake until at least 9pm. It is 7 hours ahead here in Cape Town. I have a few great days planned ahead of me.

People asked me what I going to eat in Africa. Well, South Africa is super similar to the United States. Their main thing is barbequing. Eating lots of meats is what they do well. Their meats are slightly more exotic than ours, but very good. My hosts and their friend made some steaks, sausages, corn on the cob, salad, and this interesting rice/mushroom/squash dish which was so yummy. All I know is that I am supposed to try antelope, ostrich and a few other meats once I start my travels up into Namibia and Botswana as those types of animals are served frequently. I was assured that dog is not served up in the surrounding African countries (phew).

Everything is so far, so good!

Advertisement



18th January 2011

Great Photos! Sounds like your trip was an awesome experience.. I've been wanting to go to Cape Town for a long time now and will hopefully be able to make it there soon. I actually saw a South African film recently called "White Wedding" and some of the shots of Cape Town are pretty captivating. Have you heard of it? whiteweddingmovie.com/

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb