Food, wine, whales and peguins...what more could a girl ask for?!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 19th 2010
Published: September 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Africa!!

So I am finally in beautiful Cape Town and I have had a whirl wind few days of amazing food amazing people and amazing sights! From a fairly horrific flight across which included delays, missed connections and of course my wonderful seat next to the fattest smelliest man on the plane; I was very relieved to finally arrive in Cape Town. I was met by my supervisor who is absolutely lovely and taken to my house in the Observatory area of Cape Town. I then spent my first evening supping margeritas with some lovely american girls in a mexican restaurant-not very african!!

The following few days have been spent wine tasting in Constantia (spelling almost def wrong!), eating my way around an amazing food market which happens every saturday and partying my way around various night spots! Yesterday we went all the way along the coast to Bolders Bay where we saw hundreds of penguins just hanging out on the beach!! On the way there our lovely taxi driver Ian pointed out all the best places to go (even the best fish and chip shop!!) but the most excting point so far was when he casually pointed out a group of huge whales in the sea, we all jumped out and saw the whales breaching- one of the most amazing things I have ever seen and something that has been on my top ten things to see for a long time!

Im starting my work placement tomorrow which is very exciting, I think I will be starting off working on preparations for a big national congress happening in October. I cant seem to upload any pics just yet but I will work on it! Apologies again for the terrible spelling and grammar, Im afraid you will have to like it or lump it!!

Lots of love xx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0368s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb