Hermanus and Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
August 23rd 2010
Published: September 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived at my hostel in Hermanus late in the day, had dinner and went to bed. Those of us who were doing the shark cage diving the next day, were due to leave the hostel at 0630 the next morning, so i was tucked up and in bed nice and early. The next morning we were whisked off to 'basecamp' prior to heading for the sea. We were introduced to our captain, a seemingly friendly big Afrikaner (looked like he'd be handy in a brawl), had some breakfast and set out for the sea. After about 20 minutes going out to sea, we stopped at what I think is called 'seal valley', in other words, prime feeding ground for white sharks. The cage was dropped, the bait was thrown, and we waited.

It didn't take long before we got sight of our first great white. There is a rope attached to the bait, and everytime a shark attempted to bite it, a boatman would pull it away just before the shark got it. The result being that they didnt lose all their bait quickly, but it also gave the rest of us a view of the beast rearing out of the water its jaws snapping thin air. On viewing this scene, previously absent nerves made themselves known within me. It was these nerves that prevented me rushing forward, when the captain requested that the first five volunteers for the cage make themselves known. However, after seeing the first group come face to face with the sharks and come out the cage buzzing, I put myself forward for the second lot. The experience of being the cage so close to one of natures most efficient killing machines was brilliant. The sharks come right up to the cage, and on occasions banged right into it. It certainly made your adrenalin rush! Each group got 20 minutes, and we all got two go's in the cage, with a choice of a third (which most of us turned down, but only because of the decreasing temperature of the water). We returned to basecamp to have lunch, all of us to a man raving about the experience. Despite the day hardly being inexpensive, it was certainly worth the money as it was something we would all remember for a long time. Later that day, I got a lift by two fellow shark cage divers to Cape Town, and the prospect of being reunited with Mr Rowan. This meant that much debauchery would be on the horizon.

I arrived at Stu and his housemates digs late that afternoon, and upon my arrival was immediately handed a beer. By the time evening came round, I had met all 5 of his housemates - all top guys. After dinner, me and stu decided to hit the town, after sinking a few drinks at a couple of bars, we hit this awesome local nightclub called Tiger. After being used to the fine establishments in Dundee, it was strange going into a nightclub where smart shoes and a collar were required. I almost didn't get in, but after playing the dumb foreigner card, I got in. We had a great time, thoroughly showing everyone how Scots boys cut shapes on the dance floor.

The next day, after a rather long lie, we spent the rest of the day wondering about Cape Town and went to the main tourist area of the city to have look. That night, again me and Stu went out. This time we were going into the centre of town, as I'd arranged to meet up with a group of my friends who had been on the Baz Bus. We ended up at this small club, where a member of Jurassic 5 (for those who don't know them, they are a rather well known American rap group) was showing of his lyrical skills. Again we had another superb night. Although, as we were in the centre of the night life of Cape Town, on exiting the club we had to be extra wary of the numerous dodgy characters who inhabit the street (a rather challenging task after a few drinks I can tell you). I spent the next day giving my liver a day off, as Stu was working at a local bar that night.

The following day we went to Robben Island. This is where, and amongst other things, Nelson Mandela was imprisoned for 30 years during the apartheid in South Africa. It was a very humbling experience to see how these men lived. It struck me the measure of Mandela, that despite being in that environment for that period of time, bitterness and vengeance was never on his agenda. Later that night, I made the house dinner (Chilli) by way of recompense for me using their place as a hotel and eating their food.

After a good snooze, the next day me and Stu decided to do the 2 hour hike to the top of table mountain. It was a blistering hot day, but we eventually made it to the top. The effort was certainly worth it though, as the view was spectacular! We got the cable car down again, which offerred a great view of Cape Town. That night we both lay on the couch absolutely knackered after a hard day walking. That night I was pretty much asleep as soon as my head touched the pillow.

I awoke the following day with rather stiff leg muscles, and as Stu was working the day shift, I decided to spend my final day looking around the local mall. As that night was my last in South Africa, Me, Stu and four of his housemates decided to go out for a rather messy night out, with the two of us deciding to sport our kilts for such an occasion. This was despite my lift to the airport being scheduled for 0650! We ended up at the same club we had went on my first night in Cape Town - Tiger. Once again the night was awesome, even with a couple of individuals (who will remain nameless) chundering prior to leaving the digs.

The next morning I said my goodbyes to Stu and his housemates and made my way to the airport. After checking in, I had ample time to contemplate my time in South Africa. Without question I had had a fantastic time, meeting so many genuinely nice people throughout my time their.

Next stop Singapore.......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0279s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb