South Africa - Arriving in Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 30th 2010
Published: February 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Cape TownLeaving Cape TownLeaving Cape Town

The view of Cape Town and Table Mountain

Arriving in Cape Town



The journey from Mansfield Woodhouse to Cape Town takes about 28 hours. I’ve stopped off in London to visit Martyn for a couple of hours on the way and the journey has taken longer because I’ve flown with Emirates {who are quickly becoming my favourite cheap airline} via Dubai.

I arrive in Cape Town at about 4 p.m. The plane flies in over the city, giving good views of Cape Town against the backdrop of Table Mountain which happens to be in cloud at the moment, as I gather it is most afternoons.

Getting through the airport is stress-free and I’m soon in a taxi on the way to the city - the taxi costs a little over £20 for a 25 minute ride. My taxi driver and I discuss South Africa’s and England’s prospects for the World Cup - although he seems to be more of a rugby and cricket fan.

I arrive at my hotel, the Ashanti Lodge, at 5:05 where the pre-trip meeting for the tour I am setting out on tomorrow has just started. I think I deserve bonus points for timing, being fashionably late after travelling for 28 hours!

I like the Ashanti Lodge even though there has been a mix-up with my booking {I don’t think it was them that made the mix-up} and they don’t have a room for me. It’s mainly a back-packer place but there’s a nice friendly atmosphere here and they do manage to find me a place in a dormitory - and it costs less than £15 !

Advertisement



3rd March 2010

Cape Town Hotels
Cape Town views are really wonderful .i always cant stop myself form reading about cape town. this is one of mine favourite places.. Cape Town Hotels http://www.cometocapetown.com Cape Town Hotels says: “thanks for this interesting & informative post!”

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0129s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb