A Melancholy Day


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 22nd 2006
Published: February 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Whoo! Whoo!Whoo! Whoo!Whoo! Whoo!

I don''t know if you've ever heard Nichole or myself say "Whoo!" Perhaps you have even done it yourself. Anyways, in this picture -we are whoo-ing!
Today started off pretty well. Nichole and I had breakfast at a cafe close to our flat and made a friend named Rayne. He thought we were actresses because we were working on stuff using the script. He reminded me a lot of Ab -so I'll call him SaAb...lol. Stupid joke I know. Anyways we was really interesting to talk to because of how his insights into the racial/ethnic issues in this country.

Day III at James House was a moving experience. We do this thing where we split the kids in groups and have them rotate through 4 workshops -props and scenery, location, acting, and costume and wardrobe. I was in charge of the last of this and part of my thing is to ask them what type of costume and make-up they want. And while most of their ideas varied -everyone wanted one thing that was the same. Shoes. And of all the things to make me get teary -it was this. From my perspective it was just such an different request. The kids back home rarely ever ask for shoes -they bring there own. And these kids have no shoes to really bring. I mean some days
Pretty Little OnesPretty Little OnesPretty Little Ones

Two of the girls who stay at James House. I couldn't resist playing with them -they are so adorale!
they wear the same clothes that they wore the night before more less shoes.

I think it just makes me sad -the disenfranchisement I see. It's not like I'm feeling colonial and think that we should all take them home to America where it is so much better. But it makes me sad to have to leave them without really knowing if we will see them again or not or how they will turn out. I just want things for them to be good and fair and full of opportunity. But as you walk around Cape Town and drive through the surrounding areas you realize that there isn't any guarantee of this. You see who is the service and lower class here and you see who is much more priveleged. And for the most part -its the Africaneers on top and everyone else at the bottom. Its just a frustrating feeling and these kids are sooo loving and intelligent and grateful.

Also I look at our contact person here -Xolani and his two assistants Tole and Vkile (pardon the spelling) and it is so obvious to see what good men they are. I mean they are truly good.
Politics..Politics..Politics..

One of our kids -Zolani wears political shirts everyday. It's almost election time here. Just to share -one of the other part slogans is: "Take back your city."
This whole experiences is such a humbling one.

It's strange because everyone was on the melancholy tip today. The car drive home from Hout Bay was strangely quiet. Additionally I was also sad as a wrote my paper about Robben Island -the atrocities we as people have down and continue to do are sometimes incomprehensible.

On a more positive note, I think I finally have all of the kids names down! The name thing has never phased me until all the clicks came in. Hope all is well.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Nichoe with the kids!Nichoe with the kids!
Nichoe with the kids!

They love their photos!


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb