Who Stole the Chicken from the Cooking Pot?


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 20th 2006
Published: February 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Cape Town/Hout Bay -ish

We are somewhere here! The map isn't detailed as of now.

Table MountainTable MountainTable Mountain

Sooo beautiful!
Well, it is about 11:00 PM here and we are in the middle of writing our script. It's our first full day in South Africa and we started by shopping at Woolworth's. We then headed to our production offices sponsored by Enigma Films (a South African production company). Our programming started today at James House. We worked with 19 kids -and we might get 1 more tomorrow. That's a lot for our program. And they all had hard to pronounce names with clicks and all! According to them, I look like Lucy Liu and Nichole looks like J-Lo. LOL. That's hilarious.

The drive down to Hout Bay which is where James house is is absolutely beautiful. You either see the beautiful ocean or Table Mountain. Hout Bay which I take to be somewhat of a suburb is interesting becuase its has this affluent area -think Malibu homes and also not so affluent homes. Most of our kids live in the township which has shanties. When I was speaking with one of our pariticipants -Nosisana, she said she lived with her brother and mother in a shack and they had to save all their rand (the currency) to pay for the
CoastCoastCoast

View of coast on Drive from Hout Bay.
rent. Who pays rent for a shack??

But let me back up. Overall our first day was awesome. These kids were great -and I know I say that a lot but there enthusiasm and willingness to jump in was unparallel. They had sooo much energy. We played our games with them and they wanted to teach us theirs. It was soo funny. I wish you all could play -one was a movement game and the other was "Who stole the chicken from the cooking pot?" Confused -think "who stole the cookie from the cookie pot"...Wow!!

I think that is it. Being in Cape Town is surreal still. Nichole and I woke up to the sounds of the market setting up downstairs below us. And we are still up because someone is being a baby.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

James House Participants IIJames House Participants II
James House Participants II

Another one during snack...


21st February 2006

I wish I was there! What an amazing experience.
22nd February 2006

Hello!
I delivered the hugs and kisses to Jordan from you guys. He's sleepy,but fighting his sleep real bad. I can't even tell you how many times we watch Cinderella, Nemo and Monster's Inc. a day. It sounds like you are having such an amazing experience. Hoepfully I'll be able to travel the world in my life time. Love you guys!

Tot: 0.036s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0202s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb