My First Week in Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 1st 2009
Published: February 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

I've been in Cape Town for a week now so I think it's about time to let everyone know what I have been up to. I arrived here last Sunday really early in the morning. A driver met me and 2 other students at the airport and took us to where we are living. I am living in a house with one other student going to the University of the Western Cape(UWC), and 4 students who are going to the University of Cape Town(UCT). There are 5 other students here with Arcadia that are going to UWC but they live about a 5 minute drive away. The house I am in is right next to another house where 5 other Arcadia students attending UCT live.

On Monday we went to Cape Point an the Cape of Good Hope. It was about an hour drive from where we live, but the whole drive the scenery was incredible. It was so beautiful both on the way there and at the Cape Point and the Cape of Good Hope. It was a great first thing to do because it made me really excited to be here in such a beautiful place.

On Tuesday we had orientation at UWC. Most of the day was spent listening to people talk about life at UWC, safety, how to adjust as international student... etc. We also got to go on a tour of campus which was nice though I still think I am going to get lost my first week or two. We went back to register for classes on Thursday and that was a very interesting experience. It was a very long disorganized process, that involved waiting in lots of lines. At the end of the day when we all finally had schedules I think everyone had problems with there schedules, which is normal. The first week of class pretty much everyone at UWC had to drop and add classes. I start class tomorrow so hopefully that goes well.

On Friday I went into the city with 4 of the other girls going to UWC, Brittany, Sarah, Jess, and Holly. We took the train into the city which is really easy and doesn't cost much. It costs 11 rand round trip which is equal to about $1.10. In the city we went to the Gardens. A lot of the museums are right around the gardens so now we know where to find the museums if we want to go to them. We also saw some flea markets on the streets, and found a place with really good ice cream and cake!

Friday night all the Arcadia students went out to dinner at the Africa Cafe. We were given many different types of African food to try. They just kept bringing out more and more courses of food. It was all really good, but I think everyone was overly full by the end of that meal; I know I was.

Saturday we had Arcadia orientation at a hotel in Hout Bay. At the end of orientation we got to go walk around at Hout Bay which is another really beautiful place. We went to our program directors house for dinner after that.

Today we went to Boulders Beach for the day. There are lots of penguins there!






Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



3rd February 2009

Gorgeous!
Stacy, I hope you are going to want to come back to PA!! Of course, by then we may have sunshine too! I love your photos...interesting to compare with the ones Chris is scanning for us from our time in Uganda, way back when.
4th February 2009

Great job
Thanks for setting up this blog, Stacy. I am really enjoying all of this. Its fantastic you can share this with all of us !! Hope your classes go well and you don't get lost too much. We're thinking of you and missing you.. Love, Aunt Di
5th February 2009

so exciting
hey stacy, i enjoyed reading your thoughts and seeing those pics--gorgeous! the living situation sounds really great too. hope everything is going well with the start of classes :-)

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb