Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 25th 2006
Published: March 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Heading for Cape TownHeading for Cape TownHeading for Cape Town

We board a small twin engine craft for the short flight to JoBurg before catching the flight to Cape Town.
We caught a quick puddle jumper flight from Kruger back to JoBerg and then a proper jet aircraft over to Capetown. My parents chatted up a nice lady on the place who was nice enough to lead us in her car (we followed in a rental) down to the waterfront where my parents had arranged to rent an apt from friends back in the States.

Well, would'nt you know it but, after asking my mother if the apt had TWO rooms, we show up and it only has one room for use (and the place was a bit dank and musty). So, we quickly found a suitable hotel around the corner and we situated ourselves for the next 5 days in Cape Town.

After a dinner at the V&A Waterfront (a bit touristy), I dropped the rents off at the hotel for a night out on Long Street (famous for bars and live music). I caught a reggae band at Mama Africa and had a few pints before calling it an evening myself.

The next few days the rents and I engaged in very touristy but worthwhile activities. Our first stop was Table Mountain, aptly named as it
Mountains surrounding Cape TownMountains surrounding Cape TownMountains surrounding Cape Town

The view from the get as we approach Cape Town
very flat on top. The clouds seem to cover the mountain in what looks like a table cloth (as it is called). On our way up, I chatted up some gals who told me that there is a rappelling outfit on top. I of course had to give it a go. My parents watched in fear as I climbed out onto the rocks and, after getting tied up, leaned over the edge and began the long drop down. Very scary at first but then I took in the great scenery and smiled the whole way down.

The next day we headed up to the wine country to taste the fantastic SA wines. After one winery, we had had enough and, following a recommendation, we headed for a wonderful restaurant in the Franshoek area. The food was outstanding as was the setting. Good one ma! I spent the night at Clifton Beach #4 which on Sunday nights has a Fire and Drum show. But just my luck that on this particular Sunday, the police showed up to stop the show as a complaint by a local was made.

The following day I let my parents go off looking for a market while I did some research about backpacking around Africa. I also spent some time at Clifton Beach where I met up with a group of New Yorkers who were graduate students from Hunter college. After I ran into the freezing cold water (I had to do it), the NYers invited me out that night and I joined them for a dancing filled night.

The next day we drove down to Cape Point, where along with the great views, we saw cheeky baboons stealing German tourists' bags looking for food. We then headed up to Boulder Beach to hang with the penguins and have lunch. The afternoon found us driving along the coast back up to Cape Town.

Well, after 2+ weeks with the rents, they had to go back to the States. I saw them off to the airport and returned to Cape Town for a few more days before starting my journey north. I checked in the African Du Suc backpackers and got some more information about touring the Dark Continent.

I took one day to tour the various street markets near Long Street and have High Tea at the famous Mount Nelson Hotel
Looking DownLooking DownLooking Down

The view of Lion's Head peak and the Seapoint area of Capetown from atop Tabletop Mountain.
(a very colonial experience).

Another day I signed up for a Shark Cage adventure and ended up coming face to face with a great while shark. I survived the meeting with all my fingers and toes. On the way back from the Shark Adventure, Cape Town's surrounding mountains (Tabletop, Lions Head and others) were ablaze after a Welsh tourist flicked a cigarette out his car window into the surrounding brush. Given the high winds in the area and the dry season, the fire quickly spread. All through the night, the entire city watched as the blaze consumed the mountain sides. The blaze did not end until well into the next morning.

I took the blaze as a sign to leave town and get my ass moving up the coast. I boarded a public bus the following day and headed towards The Garden Route.


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Table MountainTable Mountain
Table Mountain

I pose on top of Table Mountain.
Harbour and Robben IslandHarbour and Robben Island
Harbour and Robben Island

In the background is the Cape Town harbour and Robben Island which was the prison that housed Nelson Mandela for many years.
RopesRopes
Ropes

I had just rapelled down using these ropes.
Over the EdgeOver the Edge
Over the Edge

I take the leap of faith and go over the edge of the more than 3,000 foot drop.
Seal IslandSeal Island
Seal Island

They look sleek and cudly but the smell was truly foul.
12 Apostles12 Apostles
12 Apostles

Similar to the 12 Apostles I saw in Australia's Great Ocean Road, Cape Town has their own 12 Apostles in the rock formations right outside Camps Bay. The low hanging clouds make for a great shot.
At IgniteAt Ignite
At Ignite

I pose with Carmen and Gia at a b-day party at Ignite. I met Gia's mother during a game drive at Jackalberry and she was nice enough to contact Gia so I could be shown around Cape Town.
Wine TastingWine Tasting
Wine Tasting

My dad and I showcases the glasses of red wine at one of the wineries we stopped at.
Wine CountryWine Country
Wine Country

My parents pose with the wine country valley in the backdrop. I have to give my parents some exposure on my site as they hosted me for two weeks in South Africa...so it is only proper.
CheetahCheetah
Cheetah

My mother and I pet a cheetah at the Spier Cheetah breeding facility
Beach PartyBeach Party
Beach Party

I join hundreds of others at Clifton Beach #4 awaiting the Monday night fire and drum show. But the cops shut it down before it started.
Windy CityWindy City
Windy City

My parents showcase how windy it is in Cape Town during a pee stop on our way to the Cape Point.
Horses and WavesHorses and Waves
Horses and Waves

The waves come ashore on Noordhoek Beach as the horseriders enjoy the scenery.
Stickin' it to the manStickin' it to the man
Stickin' it to the man

An attendant at Cape Point uses the stick he chases babboons with on me. Years of pent up frustration about aparthied is unleashed on the unsuspecting American traveler.
At the CapeAt the Cape
At the Cape

After eight months in Asia, I make it to Cape of Good Hope in South Africa. Now my African adventure can begin.
Me and the Tux guysMe and the Tux guys
Me and the Tux guys

I pose with some friendly penguins at Boulders Beach.


22nd March 2006

Long time no news
Hey Larry, how are you doing? I just received your last journal. What a delay!!! are you still on the road? I´ve been enjoying a lot your journal. So many experiences, so many places... After India I also went to Cape Town to visit a friend. What a city! what a light! Similar to Rio... Speaking of that, are you planning to come over? Kisses, Dani

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb