backpackers in Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
December 26th 2008
Published: December 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Correction for the info I gave previously about Gemini Backpackers in Johannesburg, they now charge R80 for a dorm bed. Get a copy of Alternative Route or Coast to Coast (both free) from any tourist place in South Africa (SA). they contain all the info for backpackers including accommodation, tours, safaris, activities, buses, etc.
I stayed one night at Abreakaway in Muizenberg (southern part of Cape Town). this is a surfers place offering lessons for R250 (includes wetsuit & board) which is very cheap as surfing lessons go for about R450. Dorm is R100, includes breakfast of fruit and toast. internet is R20/hr (same price in the neighbourhood internet cafes). It's a bit far from banks, stores, etc. (about 30min walk) but very quiet, a small place, intimate atmosphere. Dorm has 6 beds. nice place but mattress & pillow too soft for me, I couldn't sleep (should have slept on the floor which is very clean).
Scuba Shack on Long St. (centre of town) gives discount on accommodation if you book a lesson (PADI) with them, any level.
Stayed one night at Blue Mountain Backpackers on Long St. this is a HUGE place with tons of rooms so everyone seems anonymous. a very relaxed kinda hippie type of place. very convenient location but very noisy. loved the showers! had a desk lamp (sweet) and sink in my 6-bed dorm room with closet. dorm is R100. has safe for valuables at reception. internet in the area is R10/hr.
stayed 2 nights at 33 South Backpackers at 48 Trill Road in the Observatory area (student ghetto). it's R110 for dorm but worth it because internet in free 24/7 & better than the internet cafes in the area (faster connection). steps away from very trendy bars, cafes, clubs & restaurants yet not noisy. you get your own locker and safe in the room. my dorm room was large with 6 beds. I like the atmosphere of this place. the bathrooms & kitchen were spacious and felt very homey. has a place outside to hang your laundry. I loved the paid staff (not owners). this was the only place where the cleaning staff seemed relaxed and happy and conducive to talking to me. they looked like they were home too. breakfast is included (bran muffins & toasts). this was my favourite out of all the places. I could totally live there long term. supermarket was a few steps away. the best organic store around the corner too. (I've tried at least 30 types of protein/power bars in my life and I found the best one here.)
Btw, all backpackers have a kitchen where you can cook, plus free coffee and tea.
stayed one night at Capetown Backpackers. it was horrible. got bitten by the biggest bed bugs I've ever seen in my life. the size of a grain of rice. they kept biting even with tigerbalm everywhere. not crazy about the staff. dorm is R110. room with bugs has 7 beds. I moved to the room with 12 beds (no bugs) and it was totally packed (all beds occupied). so uncomfortable. internet was very costly. better to go to the one up the street. wanted to move but it was too late. reception at backpackers accommodations usually closes at 11pm, so if you're arriving after hours, book ahead.
stayed one night at Backpackers on Castle (it's on Castle St.), the closest one I found to the train station/bus terminal. this one is not listed in any book. it's right next to Long St. so very convenient location. it's only R90 for dorm. small place with hardly any staff. the place is a bit run down but who cares. had 9 beds in the dorm room but I only saw 1 other person. mattress was too soft so I slept on my foam pad on the bed. the owner was really nice and let me leave my backpack there for a few days. A really chilled dude, maybe a bit too chilled by the looks of the place. he had a friend there who was helping out as he was hardly there. a conversation between them ran like Abbot and Costello it made me laugh so much. maybe it was just too slow of a day for everybody or something :D a few steps away from this place is the best internet cafe I found in the city. it's called Mocha, I think. they were the cheapest and had skype and everything working, etc. fast connections, no problems with anything and the staff is awesome. such nice people.
Cape Town Deco Lodge has dorm for R80 in the books but when I called, they only had beds for R120. Long Street Backpackers seems to be the only one with free airport pickup, other places have pickups but charge a fee or have conditions.
please leave a comment if you have found any of this info totally off. thanks


Advertisement



Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.019s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb