Love, love, love- Capetown, I'm not coming home!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
November 17th 2008
Published: November 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Adolphe in  LobbyAdolphe in  LobbyAdolphe in Lobby

Adolphe looked after me like a body guard during my stay at the Cullinan in Cape Town
Finally arrived in South Africa this morning after a long 12 hours flight from London. South African Airlines is fantastic! Although a night flight, I tried every little amenity in my flight section. When you're used to flying coach most of the time, it's nice to have something different for a change. Everyone here in Capetown is so accomodating, they try very hard to please you and they look after you very closely. I made arrangements with a local taxi driver to take me to a night spot here in town this evening. The doorman Adolphe, jumped to attention as he saw me leaving through the revolving door... He asked, Ms. Sandra, who's coming to collect you? After I pointed out my cabbie Edgar, and Adolphe checked him out, I was free to leave. Isn't that the bomb? My own bodyguard!

I went to the Victoria and Alfred waterfront today, took some photos (see attached) and bought way too many soveignors. When people hear me speak, they recognize that I'm American and promptly congratulated me on the election of President Obama. That happened several times today. South Africans love American politics and news. They love Obama and have high hopes for our future at home in America and here in South Africa because of him. They call him America's "Mandela". Isn't that beautiful. I talked a long time with a group of young South Africans in one of the soveignor shops about the elections. They're no dummies, really smart kids! Well gotta go and get some more needed sleep. My ankles are swollen from the long flights and I need to be up in the morning for a tour. C-ya, Sandra

Advertisement



18th November 2008

Sounds like you're having a great time! I'm enjoying reading your blog. Keep it going.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb