Work, Work, Work


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have been so busy that I haven't had time to post anything. We work a lot on this trip and today I realized that wanting to change the world is hard. Service Learning is fun but it combines two difficult things--Service and Learning. The past few days were so dull I did not want to share them. From Monday till today I have done nothing but eat, sleep, and go to work. Not very interesting blog material.

Then something amazing happened on Wednesday. We got free tickets to the ballet Carmen and a behind the scenes tour of Artscape (like the Chrysler Hall of Cape Town). They do plays, operas, ballets, etc. Our friend Vuyou works there and got us the tickets. The house manager took us around giving us inside infor on the building and the projects. It was amazing. The ballet was beautiful and I had a wonderful time. It was kind of sad to see only one black face on the stage. It was even worse to see only our groups black faces in the audience. But everything takes time.

It was nice to have a break and I will post pics from the theatre as soon as I can. Nothing else interesting to say. Africa is beautiful and I am having a lot of fun but also doing a lot of work. Love Yabonga and I think I want to come back and maybe stay forever.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb