Saving the best til last.....


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 22nd 2005
Published: June 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Even though it does say South Africa on this entry most of you will know that I'm actually in my dining room in Watford writing this....

Yes, after all the planning, shopping, fretting and excitement its all over! But I thought I'd stick my pics of South Africa up as it really was one of the highlights of the whole 5 months and I wish I'd had more time to explore but there's always next time....

Think my last entry was from Wanaka in the south island of NZ. It was a very picturesque place. I climbed Mount Iron and got some cool views of Lake Wanaka.

Next was down to Queenstown. This is known for the adrenalin activities and the partying - of which I did neither! More hill climbing though and a day trip over to the fjiords at Milford Sound kept me occupied though.

I headed over to the west coast next to Dunedin which is supposed to be the wildlife capital of NZ. The city itself it supposed to be an Edinburgh-clone but having not been to Edinburgh I couldn't realy compare! Went on a trip to the Otago penninsula to see the albatross and penguins but it was freezing!!

I then went back up to Christchurch to catch a flight up to Auckland. Spent a few days in Auckland but again the weather was bad and was looking forward to South Africa so not much to report here.

So, after a quick stop in Oz to visit the rellies I touched down in Johannesburg. Stayed in probably the best hostel of the whole 5 months (like staying in someones house basically) before heading out on the 4 day Kruger safari which was one of the best things I've ever done. The truck we were travelling was totally self sufficient with all the cooking stuff etc and all the tents and stuff provided (getting in practice for Glasto & V!) and it was so amazing lying there at night and listening to the animals.

We visited an animal sanctuary on our first day (where this huge lion decided to urinate on this Californian bird - so funny!!) then to a traditional african village. The second day we got to Kruger in the afternoon and despite people telling me that you have to be very lucky to see the Big 5 (once the most dangerous 5 animals on the planet apparantly - lion, leopard, elephant, water buffalo and rhino) we saw them all in the first afternoon!! The 3rd day was spend game driving again then on the 4th day we headed back on the long drive back to Jo'berg - stopping at the amazing Blyde river canyon and the Bourke's potholes.

After stopping the night again in Jo'berg I flew the next day to Cape Town. I only had 3 night here but had lots of activities lined up to make the most of it. That afternoon I went up Table Mountain as I was lucky enough to get a clear day but it kinda went down hill from there. Was supposed to go on a bike tour of the Cape Point but instead ended up in a doctors surgey then in bed on antibiotics & painkillers for a very nasty flu bug I picked up!! So I only managed to see Robben Island before flying back home and here I am!

The most amazing 5 months have come to an end but I think I'll be off somewhere again soon! Argentina, climbing the glacier in NZ and the safari where my favourite things I'd say - highly recommended!

Til the next time........


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

The Remarkables mountain range - QueenstownThe Remarkables mountain range - Queenstown
The Remarkables mountain range - Queenstown

Used in Lord of the Rings I believe, but not having seen any of the films I can't confirm!!!


Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb