The Lost Mckenna Tapes Caper


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
June 5th 2005
Published: June 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Cape TownCape TownCape Town

View from across the bay
I looked back at some records and found that it was exactly a year ago today that I embarked on a trip to Tenerife and Spain. At that time I was surrounded by ever increasing piles of stuff requiring compression into various suitcases but now all I'm really doing is compressing my music collection onto my IPOD. There's this cool gadget called ITRIP that lets you play the pod onto your car radio, which will make it easy to stay groovy in the car. But I digress. This trip to Joburg has come about due to the fact that the movie that I've been working on over the last few years is finally nearing completion, and it only needs me to track down some footage in Joburg. 30 betacam tapes to be exact. If you look back to my trip last year you'll see that I went to Spain to film Dennis Mckenna, well known ethnobotanist and brother of the laste great Terence Mckenna. This year, Mike and myself are going to drive the 1600 clicks to Joburg to copy the 30 betacam tapes, which apprently contain more footage of Terence than I can fit in one movie. So far so good.

We aim to leave Cape Town on tuesday and take a leisurely 2 day drive up. We're using my Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 and shlepping all sorts of equipment, including a new Sony HD movie camera. I'll be taking some pics on the way, so if you're interested in a fear and loathing South African road trip, stay tuned.

Advertisement



22nd June 2005

Stanying "tuned" but,....
Hey Schananda,... A guy could die here just waiting for the next entry!!! ....you two make it to Jo-ies or what?!?!? :)) Please write more soon -david

Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 17; qc: 26; dbt: 0.017s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb