From Vancouver through Dubai to Camps Bay


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town » Camps Bay
May 1st 2014
Published: May 1st 2014
Edit Blog Post

Lion's Head Lion's Head Lion's Head

Photo by Tia Kelly
Well it's been a week. A week of adapting, grounding, and acquainting ourselves with this stunning part of the world. I have to say that out of all the places I've ever been on this planet (so far) this is the first time I've said "I could live here". That being said, I've been in a bit of a bubble here in Camps Bay. Located in the Western Cape, Camps Bay is the Kitsilano of Vancouver, the Rancho Sante Fe of San Diego (adding in of course the beauty of the 12 Apostles and the African flare). It has tourisms and international business person from around the world and it's probably one of the most safest areas for us all to be.

Robyn, of Girls4Girls, a naive of South Africa, wanted to ensure everyone had a safe place to live while we are here and rented a house for us. We are traveling about 40 minutes to the Helderberg Rape Crisis Center and have had some opportunity to sightsee. Yesterday we even got an up close and personal view of Great White Sharks. I thought I would probably lose my cookies but surprisingly I was fairly calm. It's a very humbling experience I must say.

This is the first time we've had an opportunity to spend time seeing things outside of working while we creating Global Sorority. It's nice and challenging at the same time. It seems that adding in a component of "taking it all in" creates some challenges for me as I'm almost always in work mode and with my Masters project fastly approaching I feel a bit challenged with time right now. Alas, this experience will add to my efforts as my final project for school is focused on community partnership to create sustainable non profit growth and development.

The girls are off to a safari this weekend while Tia and I will prep for the upcoming week's training. While here the Global Sorority team and the Girls4Girls group will be supporting the crisis center in three areas: Assisting in organizing and decorating the Second Hand Clothing Shop that supports the center and women, providing the Elements of SUCCESS leadership training to a group of young women and supporting their community project development, and offering training to them to continue the leadership facilitation while we are gone. Where ever we go I offer our leadership program free of charge and some support to help them continue the training with other groups. We will also provide the organization we work with, with a highlight in our film to help share the amazing things they are doing to support their community, and thanks to Rim Slim, Passion Foundation Director, we have 30 Pads4Girls Kits to offer them.

It's said that approximately every four minutes a girl or women will experience a sexual assault here in South Africa. Helderberg Rape Crisis Center sees children as young as 5 months old up to their 80s. Colour of skin or wealth class does not matter. Although our project here is very small we hope that by empowering the center staff with these leadership skills in addition to the phenomenal work they are already doing, they can pass the training along to others.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Ostrich Farm Ostrich Farm
Ostrich Farm

This was wanted my iphoto
Boulder BeachBoulder Beach
Boulder Beach

AKA the Penguin Township
New training programNew training program
New training program

Girls4Girls crew make their own journals
NEW Program NEW Program
NEW Program

I've finally come up with my second leadership book outline. This book is for women 18-24 years of age. They got the first run through this week!
Shark adventure.Shark adventure.
Shark adventure.

Ranging from 3-6 meters we encountered 4 great whites that bring humility to a whole new level.


8th May 2014
Camps Bay Sunset

Saw one just like this
The sunset's are incredible from Cape Town. Southern Africa has lovely sunsets generally but I think it's the combination of sea, land and sky that makes it so impressive from the Cape. I was looking at a sunset just like this one from Noordhoek around the 28th of last month. When did you take this Tia?
16th May 2014
Camps Bay Sunset

Sunset
I took this picture around the 28th I have a half dozen from that balcony over the last two weeks in Camps Bay. Truly beautiful sunsets in Africa I must say. I have some from Kenya as well that are gorgeous.
8th May 2014
A man and his penguin have a moment

An existential moment?
Great pic!
8th May 2014

Nice Blog
Well written Loretta. It seems like you had a rewarding visit to Cape Town and its always nice to hear some positive news coming out of Africa. I have experienced some of the things you mention here but not all e.g. shark baiting/diving. Were you in a cage or top-side? About 2/3rds down you write: 'Alas, this experience will add to my efforts as my final project for school is focused on community partnership to create sustainable non profit growth and development.' By 'alas' I assume you mean 'fortunately?' I'm sure your efforts were appreciated.
16th May 2014

Thanks Leo
We did the cages and then also from the deck of the boat. Was quite an experience. And yes, I meant fortunately! :) It was a great experience and we look forward to more!
16th May 2014
Camps Bay Sunset

It is!
I have just looked at the photos I have from that evening and I can confirm that it is the same sunset. Glad it made an impression on you as well. https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos?pid=6011000140388205650&oid=107588826872726134823&authkey=CKGSwMXOz-e_fg

Tot: 0.163s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb