DRC Visas and Wedding Photos


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Mpumalanga
November 8th 2009
Published: November 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello all!

Just got an email from Helen Holly Hoff this morning instructing me to write more often for you ... so strap on the safety harness cause here we go.

Quick note: I was up until 130 in the morning last night going through wedding photos so I may or may not make much sense ... and go on irrevelant tangents ... or just pass in and out of consciousness. I guess I should be the one getting the harness out.

Alright ....
Since I last wrote there have been plenty of exciting events that have taken place ... most of them I can't remember but I'm trying my best right now. First one that comes to mind...
Made it out to a pretty cool area about a 2 hours drive from the Village near a town called Sabie. Lots of "mountains" and it's home to the second biggest canyon in the world ... the grand canyon being the biggest. Tons of waterfalls kicking around ... so we went to see one ... and snuck to the bottom of it to swim. So awesome. Except when we emerged from the brush we had been exploring through to get down there I definitely ... 100% sure ... saw a crocodile run up the other bank. I tried to warn the others ... no one believed me though. Luckily the (very real) crocodile didn't come back with friends and our swimming experience went without bloodshed.

Thanksgiving is a good follow up to that story...
We celebrated Canadian thanksgiving! Mmmmm turkey...
50 people showed up and brought tons of food ... from turkey to bobuti we had it all. The day before, Kristal and I spent all day baking pumpkin pies ... with carrots. Pumpkins are pretty hard to come by here in South Afrique so we substitute .... ps it works ... real good. Write that one down Justin ... I baked pies.

Halloween ... wah wah
We tried to celebrate. Just ended up eating candy and watching the worst movies I have ever seen. Nothing compared to some of the pics I saw come out of Western Canada ... right on boys ... you know who you are.

DRC visa ... right on.
Paper work is in and I'm just waiting to hear if I'm cool enough to get into the country. Plans have changed again and I won't be leaving here until next Sunday ... probably Monday ... for the DRC. Another week in South Africa ... not bad.

Big wedding here yesterday and among the many guests was none other than .... ERICK! Awesome guy ... I laugh everytime I see him. So stoked to be going on a sweeet road trip with him back to his home.

The wedding...
Holy man ... I blacked out.
I was promoted to wedding photographer the night before the big day. Side note: I wasn't even sure if I was invited ... insert charlie brown music here.
Anyway ... remind me never to photograph weddings again. So stressed / nervous the entire time ... I don't think I can describe how much I sweat during the ceremony ... it was gross.
It was pretty sweet though.

I'm tired ... more details in the next one. I'll try to write once more before the DRC ... but I'm not going to make a promise I can't keep.

Much Love
Willis Paul Hoff

Advertisement



2nd December 2009

Grandma
Hi Willie: Would love to hear the latest news. We have not heard comment on Visas and Wedding Photos. Love from Grandma and Grandpa.

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0792s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb