My Last Week (sob, sob!)


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Limpopo » Hoedspruit
August 10th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Lion cub and labrador! 26 secs
Thought I'd send another update now before I go to Kruger at the end of the week just in case I don't get chance to do another one before I leave on Monday (but will try and update you on Kruger and Panorama Route- and maybe my last Friday out in Hoedspruit- if I can!).
It's been another action packed few days as always!
Firstly on Sunday we did rifle handling which was pretty cool with a .22 rifle, I managed to not hit any of the targets (not even the paper surrounding them!) but did it in the fastest time anyway (if it was based on speed and not accuracy I'd definitely win)! Oh well, guess I'll not be the next GI Jane after all!
Then Monday was town day where we get to go stock up on supplies in the Spa (usually mainly alcohol!) after we did our walk for the day. I've added a couple of pictures of the impala poo spitting contest we do sometimes on our walks, I've done this quite a few times now but still don't seem to be able to spit it very far - and yes before you ask it is actual impala poo that you put in your mouth!
Then this morning I did a trip to do a bush walk on another game reserve, the difference being that you walk alongside a tame lion cub. He was absolutely gorgeous, you just want to cuddle him! He is friends with a labrador too which is just adorable as they play with each other all the time. The walk was pretty cool too as we managed to see rhino up really close. It's a private game reserve so you know that there are rhino there but it's pretty rare to see them and they actually followed us and did several mock charges throughout the trip! After the walk we had an amazing breakfast and then got to spend time with a tame cheetah called Savannah (also the name of my favourite drink out here!). Then a few of us did a game drive around a lion and leopard breeding project that's on the same farm. They breed lions and leopards who then get sold to private game reserves (it's not as bad as it sounds though as there are strict rules about the game reserves who buy them and they have to have a specific license to buy them) and there is also a problem with the lions in the Kruger park contracting bovine TB so I guess eventually these could be relocated there in case the numbers decrease. It was fantastic getting so close to the lions and leopards though and they have huge spaces to roam in (they put our zoos and safari parks to shame).

We then today did a very interesting lecture on the problem of the overpopulation of elephants, which I'm sure I'll bore you a


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb