amongst the sugar cane...and the stigmas...


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal
November 5th 2009
Published: November 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Saturday-- there I was, sitting in a loud smokey pub- surrounded by farmers clad in shorts and safari shirts-- straight out of the movies-- really enjoy that though-- sitting there with Neil, he is already drunk I think, from the brandy he had been drinking all day. he has been out sick from work--which just means he gets to drink more brandy -- the rugby match has started and everyone is yelling--cheetahs--blue bulls , seems to be split-- across the room two TV sets jarring the sound of fans cheering along with those cheering here in my surrounds. it is one of a kind-- south african rugby in a south african pub..in the small farm town of camperdown. the table- our table, is becoming a swamp of beer-- everyone seems to want to buy us drinks- Fred, his brother, some other farmers I have met-- friends of Neil-- it is insanity truly, I do not even want all of these-- but don't want to be rude.. of course not. The food is up as well.. the main part of the show is a full pig roasting on a rod-- sad. but thankfully the sides are nice. pickled onions, roasted veggies, phutu, beet salad.. i love pickled onions. love love love. If it were possible I would survive soley on these delicious treats. indeed. Blue Bulls won- of course. bryan habana is not human.. something higher-- no one can run that fast. Neil is falling asleep in the chair--- time to go. Asambe.

I am not sure what day it is .. Wednesday or Thursday.. anyway-- yesterday, as I said before, I took a taxi into PMburg . I walked up to the SPAR and grabbed a sparkling water with a slight hint of lychee.. and then caught a taxi ( why did i wear a sweater when I knew I would be walking that far?) the taxi was damp, humid--full of human. I sweat some more.. oh well-- it is windy so I will cool down once in town-- we arrived in Maritzburg. I got off the taxi, wondering whether or not Amangwe will have replied..when will I be back there--teaching, doing what I came here for?? we shall see.. eh. so i was walking, briskly, to the next rank to catch a taxi to Midlands Mall-- this coloured guy(mixed) was walking quickly by me, bumped my shoulder- they are a tough breed-- hey watch it man-- he is drunk-- stares me down and his friends shout for me to come their side.. sounds like a bad idea to me guys-- so with my hand on my stun gun (yes indeed) I back off-- he walked towards me mumbling-- so I raised my toy towards him and clicked it once-- the blue spark and the loud crackle must have sobered him up a bit-- he walked away quickly. come on just let me use it.. This guy came up and asked if I was ok. I said sure, ngiyaphila. he introduced himself and walked with me to the rank. so many people here are truly concerned with helping anyone they meet. could be an example to others elsewhere.. eh? so ja I got on the taxi to the mall.. arrived, forgot how big it was. eish. fulfilled my mission, looked at some jackets and shirts at Mr. Price.. love that place. can't be wasting money now, but just wanted to see the latest offerings..seems the lumberjack craze that has taken over every hipster store in the US has infiltrated here as well. nice.

made it home-- this girl on the taxi was very rude when I asked how much( I was on a taxi to Hammersdale but being dropped in Camperdown) I said what is it you just don't like umlungus?? she did not respond.. most people around laughed at my joke.. some people.

back at the farm, sat around with the gang and watched SA stand up comedy. there is one guy that is actually very funny..the others are kind of-- well-- ignorant. oh well.
Somehow we got on the subject of HIV-- Sams' brother Anton informed me that he never uses a condom and he is not afraid of HIV. I told him how absurd this sounds, living in a country where 1 out of 4 adults has the disease.. he said he does not want to be tested because he is afraid..that is the truth, he is afraid.. but this married father of 5 will continue to sleep with whomever with no protection.. because, here we go, he has the cure! so everyone listen up-- he has this traditional muti--some concotion that you apply to anyone you have sex with and if they have HIV it makes it unspreadable basically. thank God!! now we know. oh stigmas..

Amongst the sugar cane and the stigmas!

Now I am at the internet cafe by SPAR. ran into Cyril again, seem to see him up here
all the time.. told him I will head there later, I really enjoy talking to him..and Elsie.. such nice
people.. he let me know that if the position at Amangwe does not work out, a friend of his
has a hotel and is possibly in need of a chef. and a room would come with it. but I am hoping that
everything will come through with Amangwe. I want to be back there, working with those great kids, I felt great when I was a part of that--plus the idea for a backpackers there gets me very excited, I truly think it would be a success...

I just gave this gentleman a course in how to use eBay..now he is going to pick me up tomorrow and we're coming here to start his account..so he can sell his Land Rover overseas..
it is funny how you meet people.

take care ladies and gents.

Advertisement



5th November 2009

Well, Mr. Wrinkle-you are sounding pretty good!! Things will be fine, won't they?? Seems like someone has told you that all your life, who would that be? hehe:) sounds like a rough crowd you hang with, haha. Not everyone makes friends as easily as you, you just seem to have the knack dude. i know you will have no problems doing something you love to do in africa, knowing you you will probably be the president someday, haha. Miss ya, and love you bunches!! mom

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb